DIY oil change - I am starting to get it.

Status
Not open for further replies.
When I was 16 years old, I changed the oil one time each in our family cars at the time, a '72 Nova, '69 Stingray, '84 Volvo 740, and '85 Mitsubishi Mirage Turbo, and didn't do it again for almost 30 years.

Since then, I've almost exclusively used quick lube type places, sometimes bringing my own oil and filter to make sure I got exactly what I wanted, other times just getting whatever they had in the correct grade. This technique didn't seem to cause any issues at all; in fact I put 186K miles on a 91 Mercury Cougar XR-7 (5.0 V8) over 10+ years using mostly bulk dino oil every 3 or 4 thousand miles, and it was still going strong when I sold it with the exception of a minor but worsening rear main seal leak.

Fast forward 30 years and I've been changing my own oil (thanks to BITOG) for a few years now. I changed the oil in our Cadillac DTS early this morning (6 qts Castrol Edge EP, 1 can of Liqui Moly Oil Saver, less than 1 qt of M1 0W-40, Fram Ultra filter). It was an oddly satisfying experience watching the old oil drain out and pouring in the new stuff, and I was done in 35 minutes start to finish, including clean up, and putting everything (ramps, tools, etc.) back in their proper place.

Last edited:
I really don't trust anyone to work on my vehicles, and never have since 1987.

Only exception: Scott Hubbard in Robinson, Texas is the best & most highly skilled manual transmission and rear differential guy I have ever met. It's just that he's booked solid for months at a time.

Everything else, I do myself.

Originally Posted By: Ddubya
It was an oddly satisfying experience watching the old oil drain out and pouring in the new stuff,