Old Stock Fram Tough Guard TG8316 (Circa 2003)

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time cutting open a filter. Used an angle grinder on the crimp seam, which recently saw suggested.

Used this clearance $1.50 Walmart Toughguard TG8316 circa 2003 as a transmission filter for a few thousand miles on my ES300.

This is an engine oil filter and isn't meant for transmission or hydraulic applications. Using it was probably a bad idea in multiple ways (it's old, the anti siphon valve might create backpressure or be too restrictive etc... oh and it was DENTED
mad.gif
), but at least still looks pretty good for something that spent 13 years on a Walmart shelf.

2003 date code.

Bypass valve looks good, and Toughguards of the time featured a screen over it- like you still see in the Fram Racing filters.

hDcGvmU.jpg

ysm1Jh5.jpg

dv1LuP1.jpg

aFZ4ZbI.jpg

httexRu.jpg

lF8EGEe.jpg

Anti siphon valve works well

FWKE9T8.jpg

ADBV really pliable (a tad thin?)

hLouBpm.jpg

Didn't notice that dent till taking this picture. Though I don't think it interfered with the function of the filter.

yOuZ3R1.jpg

Definitely wouldn't have run it had I noticed the dent.

Last edited:
I'm surprised there was enough room under the hood on a ES300 for a filter head and filter for your tranny!!

Do you have install Pics how you had it put in?

Originally Posted By: CT8
I find it interesting how Fram quit using the bypass screen.

It's an added cost.... and doesn't really do anything - EXCEPT in engines that are really, really, really sludged bad, it might MAYBE keep some extremely large debris from getting back into the clean oil side.

Originally Posted By: i_hate_autofraud

I'm surprised there was enough room under the hood on a ES300 for a filter head and filter for your tranny!!
Do you have install Pics how you had it put in?