Recent Topics
Review: CVJ Remanufactured CV Axles
by The Critic
06/25/18 03:40 AM
Towing without 85w140?
by OilFilters
06/25/18 03:07 AM
2015 VW GTI autobahn oil questions
by Skyalbo
06/24/18 11:28 PM
Corrosion in the garage - salt or humidity?
by Kurtatron
06/24/18 11:13 PM
Darn dogs
by AZjeff
06/24/18 10:21 PM
New GC?
by Bullwinkle007
06/24/18 10:04 PM
The guy with the plexiglass head on you tube
by andyd
06/24/18 09:21 PM
'07 Pacifica Timing Belt Replacement success
by 92saturnsl2
06/24/18 09:10 PM
SAE 90 v 85/140
by Knuckle078
06/24/18 09:10 PM
Mobil 1 5W30-HM 5,011 mi, 1999 Ford Escort
by WA1DH
06/24/18 08:45 PM
what happened to merk
by ernied
06/24/18 08:34 PM
Schaeffer's oil reviews on Amazon
by zfasts03
06/24/18 07:41 PM
Decent MP3 player
by Ed_T
06/24/18 07:08 PM
Letgo
by Donald
06/24/18 06:52 PM
Tire buying advice
by supton
06/24/18 06:23 PM
Two versions of M1 5w30 ESP now?
by Patman
06/24/18 06:21 PM
No older cars in New York State?
by Oldtom
06/24/18 06:19 PM
2009 Taurus strut mount noise
by terry274
06/24/18 04:38 PM
A3/B3 vs A3/B4, big difference or irrelevant?
by FordCapriDriver
06/24/18 03:36 PM
2003 Honda power steering problem
by hogpops
06/24/18 03:29 PM
Newest Members
lozpxs, danthemanx07, FunktasticLucky, Knuckle078, penncove
65317 Registered Users
Who's Online
36 registered (CB900F2, Buzzinhalfdozen, billt460, Astro_Guy, bbhero, DanMiller, 3 invisible), 800 Guests and 38 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65317 Members
67 Forums
285954 Topics
4771909 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4450820 - 07/05/17 09:05 PM Got hooked up to Comcast
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
Will it work without the cable box? I forgot to ask the guy before he left.

I don't watch TV, so can I just run the line directly into the cable modem?

Top
#4450838 - 07/05/17 09:23 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
Bud Offline


Registered: 06/04/02
Posts: 1725
Loc: Texas
I use Comcast for internet and phone. Cable hooks directly to my wireless gateway.
_________________________
2016 Honda Pilot EX-L with NAV.....Mobil 1 0w20 AFE and Ultra XG7317

Top
#4450839 - 07/05/17 09:24 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
PimTac Offline


Registered: 03/04/17
Posts: 4342
Loc: Soviet State of Washington
Up in the PNW they call themselves Infinity. Everyone knows it's Comcast. The installer didn't go over things with you?
_________________________
2017 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic 0w20
Mobil 1 M108A EP filter


Top
#4450848 - 07/05/17 09:30 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
The installer told me I needed the cablebox to watch TV. He didn't tell me if I needed the cable box for the internet. But then again, I forgot to ask him if I needed the cable box for the internet. On my old AT&T DSL, all I have is the phone line going directly into the DSL modem and that's it.

Top
#4450850 - 07/05/17 09:33 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
PimTac Offline


Registered: 03/04/17
Posts: 4342
Loc: Soviet State of Washington
Seems like there should be a box or router so you can plug in your wireless modem for internet. Most televisions can plug direct to cable unless you have a odd setup.

Granted, it's been a few years since I went through this.


Edited by PimTac (07/05/17 09:34 PM)
_________________________
2017 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic 0w20
Mobil 1 M108A EP filter


Top
#4450859 - 07/05/17 09:45 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
The only reason I have a cable box is because I ordered the internet with TV bundle; it was cheaper to go that route than it was to order the internet by itself. The cable box is a big'ol honkin' behemoth thing. I'd like to box it up and get it out of my living room if I can.

Top
#4450863 - 07/05/17 09:48 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
Rolla07 Offline


Registered: 11/05/11
Posts: 4740
Loc: MTL, CANADA
It shouldnt impact your internet as your modem will be wired to a cable itself. Unplug tv box and see if ur internet still works...simple.
_________________________
2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967


Top
#4450872 - 07/05/17 10:22 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
Brybo86 Offline


Registered: 10/08/11
Posts: 2950
Loc: Chicago, IL
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.
_________________________
08 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4L M1 EP 0w20 145k
01 Kymco People 50
95 Lexus LS400 M1 AFE 0w30 193k
95 Yamaha Jog

Top
#4450878 - 07/05/17 10:27 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
HangFire Offline


Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 2506
Loc: Central Maryland
COMCAST will lie to you.

You don't need their Internet modem for any Xfinity bundle.

Chances are very high you can get cheaper Internet without Cable. Do an internet search for the cable price schedule for your municipal area. Once you have that, call them back and demand exactly, and only, what you want.

You can get your own modem, but it has to be one on their accepted hardware list.

Top
#4450900 - 07/05/17 11:08 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Rolla07]
Merkava_4 Offline


Registered: 01/30/07
Posts: 17501
Loc: Clovis, CA
I got it working without the cable box! smile I called Comcast and asked "Banika" if I could hook the cable directly to the cable modem; she said yes. smile Why didn't I call Comcast in the first place? Because it was a 15 minute wait and I can get an answer from my oil buddies quicker. Usually. grin2

Top
#4450901 - 07/05/17 11:09 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Brybo86]
69GTX Offline


Registered: 09/23/15
Posts: 3815
Loc: Connecticut
Originally Posted By: Brybo86
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.



That's crazy. For Comcast high speed internet alone I'd have to pay $70/month or so. The only thing that made sense was the internet, TV, and phone bundle for $129/month. TV by itself is $70-$90 as well.

I did a search for "cheap" HS internet only and couldn't get under $65/month...and the cheapest was satellite. AT&T is no longer expanding in this area so they don't HS internet to new customers. All their slots have been taken. It's pretty much a monopoly around here.
_________________________
----------------

2001 Lincoln Cont 4.6L DOHC/ 39K mi / QS HM 5w30 / FUG XG2
1999 Camaro SS M6 /19K /Mobil 1 0w40 /Fram UG /GM MTL-ATF
1969 Ply GTX/RRs

Top
#4450902 - 07/05/17 11:10 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Brybo86]
CKN Offline


Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 3709
Loc: Utah
Originally Posted By: Brybo86
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.


Is that an introductory or hardship rate?


Edited by CKN (07/05/17 11:15 PM)

Top
#4450903 - 07/05/17 11:12 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: PimTac]
CKN Offline


Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 3709
Loc: Utah
Originally Posted By: PimTac
Seems like there should be a box or router so you can plug in your wireless modem for internet. Most televisions can plug direct to cable unless you have a odd setup.

Granted, it's been a few years since I went through this.


You need a cable box or smart card to watch a cable signal. Obviously-you don't have cable.

Top
#4450904 - 07/05/17 11:15 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: HangFire]
CKN Offline


Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 3709
Loc: Utah
Originally Posted By: HangFire
COMCAST will lie to you.

You don't need their Internet modem for any Xfinity bundle.

Chances are very high you can get cheaper Internet without Cable. Do an internet search for the cable price schedule for your municipal area. Once you have that, call them back and demand exactly, and only, what you want.

You can get your own modem, but it has to be one on their accepted hardware list.


NO-not the way Comcast "bundles" their packages in many parts of the country.

Got some major disinformation going on in this thread.

Top
#4450906 - 07/05/17 11:19 PM Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4]
CKN Offline


Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 3709
Loc: Utah
Originally Posted By: Merkava_4
Will it work without the cable box? I forgot to ask the guy before he left.

I don't watch TV, so can I just run the line directly into the cable modem?


There are several channels that may be of interest to you-

Discovery (Science/nature) Velocity (Cars) National Geographic, HGTV (Home Improvement) and History Channel, if your package includes these channels.


Edited by CKN (07/05/17 11:21 PM)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >