Recent Topics
2014 Durango ZF8 transmission fluid recommendation
by MoparMan12. 09/19/18 06:45 AM
Does Rear Heater Need to be On?
by Gebo. 09/19/18 05:04 AM
125 years.
by Silk. 09/19/18 12:38 AM
How a VW DSG Transmission works
by StevieC. 09/18/18 10:42 PM
Full Synthetic vs HM Full Synthetic
by SierraMan. 09/18/18 10:06 PM
Champion AGM batteries
by bbhero. 09/18/18 08:53 PM
General opinion about Cooper CS5 Ultra?
by dan_erickson. 09/18/18 08:37 PM
Rotella Online Rebate
by PumpPusher. 09/18/18 08:13 PM
Audi A4 vs Volkswagen CC...or good old Passat?
by KCJeep. 09/18/18 07:19 PM
GM 454 engine
by dirtymudder. 09/18/18 07:13 PM
High Performance Motorcycle oil...which one?
by Neiz15. 09/18/18 06:50 PM
Need help High Performance Motorcycle oil?
by Neiz15. 09/18/18 06:38 PM
MC FL-500S CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/18/18 05:15 PM
FORD FACTORY FILTER CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/18/18 05:06 PM
2019 Harley Davidson FXDR 114
by DuckRyder. 09/18/18 04:59 PM
USS Forrestal question
by cjcride. 09/18/18 03:52 PM
Breaker Box
by Throt. 09/18/18 03:00 PM
Newest Members
vortex64, 19074, Redright9, Clif67, scotstr
66011 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
77 registered members (ArrestMeRedZ, 2009Edge, A310, advocate, ABomb369, 2013ecof150, 6 invisible), 1,275 guests, and 36 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,628
Posts4,847,681
Members66,011
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Got hooked up to Comcast #4450820
07/05/17 09:05 PM
07/05/17 09:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Will it work without the cable box? I forgot to ask the guy before he left.

I don't watch TV, so can I just run the line directly into the cable modem?

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450838
07/05/17 09:23 PM
07/05/17 09:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,833
Texas
Bud Offline
Bud  Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,833
Texas
I use Comcast for internet and phone. Cable hooks directly to my wireless gateway.


2016 Honda Pilot EX-L with NAV.....Mobil 1 0w20 AFE and Ultra XG7317
Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450839
07/05/17 09:24 PM
07/05/17 09:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,370
Soviet State of Washington
PimTac Offline
PimTac  Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,370
Soviet State of Washington
Up in the PNW they call themselves Infinity. Everyone knows it's Comcast. The installer didn't go over things with you?


2017 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic 0w20
Mobil 1 M108A EP filter

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450848
07/05/17 09:30 PM
07/05/17 09:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
The installer told me I needed the cablebox to watch TV. He didn't tell me if I needed the cable box for the internet. But then again, I forgot to ask him if I needed the cable box for the internet. On my old AT&T DSL, all I have is the phone line going directly into the DSL modem and that's it.

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450850
07/05/17 09:33 PM
07/05/17 09:33 PM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,370
Soviet State of Washington
PimTac Offline
PimTac  Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,370
Soviet State of Washington
Seems like there should be a box or router so you can plug in your wireless modem for internet. Most televisions can plug direct to cable unless you have a odd setup.

Granted, it's been a few years since I went through this.

Last edited by PimTac; 07/05/17 09:34 PM.

2017 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic 0w20
Mobil 1 M108A EP filter

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450859
07/05/17 09:45 PM
07/05/17 09:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
The only reason I have a cable box is because I ordered the internet with TV bundle; it was cheaper to go that route than it was to order the internet by itself. The cable box is a big'ol honkin' behemoth thing. I'd like to box it up and get it out of my living room if I can.

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450863
07/05/17 09:48 PM
07/05/17 09:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,850
MTL, CANADA
Rolla07 Offline
Rolla07  Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,850
MTL, CANADA
It shouldnt impact your internet as your modem will be wired to a cable itself. Unplug tv box and see if ur internet still works...simple.


2007 Corolla Red Pearl 155k miles
PP 0w20 & ST 4967

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450872
07/05/17 10:22 PM
07/05/17 10:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,975
Chicago, IL
Brybo86 Offline
Brybo86  Offline
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,975
Chicago, IL
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.


08 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4L M1 EP 0w20 145k
01 Kymco People 50
95 Lexus LS400 M1 AFE 0w30 193k
95 Yamaha Jog
Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450878
07/05/17 10:27 PM
07/05/17 10:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,529
Central Maryland
HangFire Offline
HangFire  Offline
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,529
Central Maryland
COMCAST will lie to you.

You don't need their Internet modem for any Xfinity bundle.

Chances are very high you can get cheaper Internet without Cable. Do an internet search for the cable price schedule for your municipal area. Once you have that, call them back and demand exactly, and only, what you want.

You can get your own modem, but it has to be one on their accepted hardware list.

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Rolla07] #4450900
07/05/17 11:08 PM
07/05/17 11:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
Merkava_4 Offline OP
Merkava_4  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 17,501
Clovis, CA
I got it working without the cable box! smile I called Comcast and asked "Banika" if I could hook the cable directly to the cable modem; she said yes. smile Why didn't I call Comcast in the first place? Because it was a 15 minute wait and I can get an answer from my oil buddies quicker. Usually. grin2

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Brybo86] #4450901
07/05/17 11:09 PM
07/05/17 11:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,861
Connecticut
69GTX Offline
69GTX  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,861
Connecticut
Originally Posted By: Brybo86
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.



That's crazy. For Comcast high speed internet alone I'd have to pay $70/month or so. The only thing that made sense was the internet, TV, and phone bundle for $129/month. TV by itself is $70-$90 as well.

I did a search for "cheap" HS internet only and couldn't get under $65/month...and the cheapest was satellite. AT&T is no longer expanding in this area so they don't HS internet to new customers. All their slots have been taken. It's pretty much a monopoly around here.


----------------

2001 Lincoln Cont 4.6L DOHC/ 39K mi / QS HM 5w30 / FUG XG2
1999 Camaro SS M6 /19K /Mobil 1 0w40 /Fram UG /GM MTL-ATF
1969 Ply GTX/RRs
Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Brybo86] #4450902
07/05/17 11:10 PM
07/05/17 11:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
Originally Posted By: Brybo86
Illinois charges tax on TV but not on internet.
I currently have comcast internet only for $19.99

not a cent more, I love it.


Is that an introductory or hardship rate?

Last edited by CKN; 07/05/17 11:15 PM.
Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: PimTac] #4450903
07/05/17 11:12 PM
07/05/17 11:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
Originally Posted By: PimTac
Seems like there should be a box or router so you can plug in your wireless modem for internet. Most televisions can plug direct to cable unless you have a odd setup.

Granted, it's been a few years since I went through this.


You need a cable box or smart card to watch a cable signal. Obviously-you don't have cable.

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: HangFire] #4450904
07/05/17 11:15 PM
07/05/17 11:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
Originally Posted By: HangFire
COMCAST will lie to you.

You don't need their Internet modem for any Xfinity bundle.

Chances are very high you can get cheaper Internet without Cable. Do an internet search for the cable price schedule for your municipal area. Once you have that, call them back and demand exactly, and only, what you want.

You can get your own modem, but it has to be one on their accepted hardware list.


NO-not the way Comcast "bundles" their packages in many parts of the country.

Got some major disinformation going on in this thread.

Re: Got hooked up to Comcast [Re: Merkava_4] #4450906
07/05/17 11:19 PM
07/05/17 11:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
CKN Offline
CKN  Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,892
Utah
Originally Posted By: Merkava_4
Will it work without the cable box? I forgot to ask the guy before he left.

I don't watch TV, so can I just run the line directly into the cable modem?


There are several channels that may be of interest to you-

Discovery (Science/nature) Velocity (Cars) National Geographic, HGTV (Home Improvement) and History Channel, if your package includes these channels.

Last edited by CKN; 07/05/17 11:21 PM.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™