Recent Topics
Which Performance Filter?
by rooflessVW. 09/25/18 03:33 PM
Optimal Compression Ratio for 91 Octane Fuel
by NICAT. 09/25/18 02:01 PM
Anyone used Amsoil DZF 0w40 ?
by ofelas. 09/25/18 01:33 PM
No more Turo - What now?
by dogememe. 09/25/18 01:08 PM
Military small arms ammo
by Camprunner. 09/25/18 12:03 PM
Pennzoil must not be selling , OR ?
by Kjmack. 09/25/18 11:51 AM
New black car, light swirls and water spots
by Redright9. 09/25/18 11:37 AM
Rust Belt vs Sun Belt cars
by ZZman. 09/25/18 11:33 AM
Enginer rebuilder's view of GDI intake issues
by Brigadier. 09/25/18 11:09 AM
Oil for '84 Caddy w/HT-4100
by StillLearning. 09/25/18 10:41 AM
Interesting video of diff with clear cover
by mrdctaylor. 09/25/18 10:15 AM
The death of American footbal
by Brigadier. 09/25/18 10:01 AM
Tire leaking from bead/rim
by Brybo86. 09/25/18 09:39 AM
2000 4Runner 3.4L
by ka9mnx. 09/25/18 08:59 AM
VW 508 Spec 0w20 Updates?
by Zee09. 09/25/18 08:36 AM
Laptop Recommendations
by buster. 09/25/18 08:24 AM
Mac OSX Mojave - vid card requirements
by OVERKILL. 09/25/18 08:05 AM
Newest Members
Peppz, Jfa02, ibsfusion, Fearcat707, Perseo
66069 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
110 registered members (Ablebody, 92saturnsl2, 28oz, 853okg, Ag76, 9 invisible), 1,585 guests, and 38 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,997
Posts4,854,071
Members66,069
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Anyone have a hobart mig welder? #4449977
07/04/17 11:09 PM
07/04/17 11:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
motor_oil_madman Offline OP
motor_oil_madman  Offline OP
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
I bought this about a year ago and haven't really used it because it doesn't put any metal down. Even after talking to the Hobart guys, he basically said you're pretty limited using the 115V setup and 1/4" steel is about as thick as you can do with it on 115. It's the Hobart 210MVP (multi volt plug)

I ended up setting it at 7 for the voltage and 5 for the wire speed, (I may have that backwards) Anyways it comes standard with flux core wire and I've verified the polarity is correct, so what's the deal? I can hold it in one spot and it doesn't even build up any metal. Do I need to be completely inside when mig welding?


2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4449993
07/04/17 11:51 PM
07/04/17 11:51 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
motor_oil_madman Offline OP
motor_oil_madman  Offline OP
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
At first I was thinking it was the wind, but I did it on a day it wasn't windy at all and still didn't have any luck.


2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450002
07/05/17 12:20 AM
07/05/17 12:20 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 6,263
Waco, TX
Linctex Offline
Linctex  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 6,263
Waco, TX
I have a Lincoln 135SP, (pretty close in size to yours) and it'll weld 1/4" thick pretty well when using .035" flux core with LOTS of heat and LOTS of wire speed.

Duty cycle sucks at those settings, though.... it'll over heat fast and takes a long time to cool down.

You aren't using an extension cord, are you?


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450007
07/05/17 12:26 AM
07/05/17 12:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
motor_oil_madman Offline OP
motor_oil_madman  Offline OP
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
Yeah a 100ft 12 gauge cord. It will run a bead, but it's only about 1/8" wide and doesn't penetrate.


2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450021
07/05/17 01:11 AM
07/05/17 01:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 317
northern NY
Driz Offline
Driz  Offline
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 317
northern NY
https://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtalk/forum.php

Give it a try here. It's a slow kite these days but the die hards are still around. It also links to manuals and other info.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450029
07/05/17 02:11 AM
07/05/17 02:11 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,811
Central Washington
Colt45ws Offline
Colt45ws  Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,811
Central Washington
I have a Hobart 140, am using .030 flux core, and have no problem welding 1/8" and 3/16" material. I have confidence I could do 1/4" as well.
I did modify it a little. It had a pathetic 14ga 15amp cord. I opened it up and replaced it with 10ft of 10ga SJOOW with a L5-30 plug on the end. Then that plugs into a 50ft 10ga extension running to an L5-30 outlet I added to my garage which gives me anywhere in my garage and then a little bit out of it. My generator has that particular plug for remote locations as well.


Across 100ft of 12ga extension, you are losing 6 or 7 volts. Depending on where your at on the circuit and how far it is from the breaker would could be losing another 3 or 4 volts there.

Heres some things I welded recently.
Boxing a control arm. The plate Im adding is 1/8", but the control arm is not...is probably 12ga or close to it.

Here I added a 3/16 brace to one of the control arm mounts.


-Colton
2002 Ford Crown Vic PI 207k, Ex-Kootenai County, ID Unit #42
Down for engine swap
2003 Ford Crown Vic PI 75k
Castrol EDGE HM 5W30, Fram XG2
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: Driz] #4450033
07/05/17 03:12 AM
07/05/17 03:12 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 317
northern NY
Driz Offline
Driz  Offline
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 317
northern NY
Originally Posted By: Driz
https://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtalk/forum.php

Give it a try here. It's a slow kite these days but the die hards are still around. It also links to manuals and other info.




And yes that's supposed to be SITE not kite but can't change i.e. , [censored] autospell!
For anything bigger than fenders and like I always grab the good old Tombstone arc welder. It's just easier to switch electrodes than changing reels. You never have penetration issues with one of those but you need a 220 dryer outlet or similar to plug in. Always cheap on Craig's list for a song as guys have to move up to a mig rig to weld better, or so they think.
FYI I have to always run my hh135 at least a setting higher than the recommended setting always it seems.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450088
07/05/17 06:46 AM
07/05/17 06:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
KY
pburchett Offline
pburchett  Offline
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
KY
I have the Hobart 140 mig welder. It is 120volt and I have no problem with something that thick using flux core wire. I normally turn a box fan on to blow the smoke away from me as flux core is designed for outside windy areas. I would think the 100ft extension cord is killing your welds. Try it without the 100ft cord.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450092
07/05/17 06:56 AM
07/05/17 06:56 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 19,954
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 19,954
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Is it sputtering? Do you have enough drive roller tension? I use a Millermatic 211 inverter mig with Steel Mix gas on 125 for thin stuff and it goes like a house on fire, thicker gets the 220v. For the automotive work I do it more or less lives on 125V, it does sheet metal really nice.
I have an old regulator (works great) here if you want it, just buy a gas bottle and trade in when its empty at Airgas. Let me know and I will send it to you.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450109
07/05/17 07:19 AM
07/05/17 07:19 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 9,337
Central Coast, Calif.
tom slick Offline
tom slick  Offline
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 9,337
Central Coast, Calif.
If you pull the trigger holding the gun in the air does the wire feed out smoothly and quickly?


You get what you pay for...
So keep in mind how much you paid for this advice.
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450111
07/05/17 07:25 AM
07/05/17 07:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 279
Sav ga
NStuart Offline
NStuart  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 279
Sav ga
Can you not run it with 75\25 instead of flux. As other have said lose the extension cord, put it on its own 20 or 30 amp circuit.,if you insist on an extension cord hf has a cheap,heavy duty cord if welded with. My Lincoln welder from home depot works great!


Detroit14l 1m75k mi bp schaffer9k 30k oil
96 ram 5.9 gas 80k built tranny 5k m1
85 cj7 4.2 performance build. Schaeffer 9000
08 cbr600rr graffiti. T6
08 husky sm610 t6
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450207
07/05/17 09:21 AM
07/05/17 09:21 AM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
motor_oil_madman Offline OP
motor_oil_madman  Offline OP
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,943
Houston, Texas
This is why I was looking at an engine driven welder. That way I could power it off a 50amp outlet. Any setting less than 6 or 7 it sputters, yes the wire feeds out quick.


2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.

Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450236
07/05/17 09:49 AM
07/05/17 09:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 6,263
Waco, TX
Linctex Offline
Linctex  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 6,263
Waco, TX
I'd love to see a video of what's going on.

You are losing more than 6-7 volts from that 100' cord. As it heats up, resistance increases.

Get a heavier cord (10 gauge)
Keep playing with the settings. On the Lincoln SP135, I think the heat knob is maXxed out when on 1/4" steel - and the wire is really, really flowing!


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4450729
07/05/17 07:39 PM
07/05/17 07:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 19,954
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 19,954
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman
This is why I was looking at an engine driven welder. That way I could power it off a 50amp outlet. Any setting less than 6 or 7 it sputters, yes the wire feeds out quick.


Hold it a an inch away from the metal and trigger it with no ground clamp so it doesn't fire, if it doesn't start bending the wire and continue to feed under pressure tighten the drive roller till it does.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Anyone have a hobart mig welder? [Re: motor_oil_madman] #4451389
07/06/17 02:30 PM
07/06/17 02:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 279
Sav ga
NStuart Offline
NStuart  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 279
Sav ga
I damaged the casing inside one time which caused intermittent feeding issues,replaced and g2g


Detroit14l 1m75k mi bp schaffer9k 30k oil
96 ram 5.9 gas 80k built tranny 5k m1
85 cj7 4.2 performance build. Schaeffer 9000
08 cbr600rr graffiti. T6
08 husky sm610 t6
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™