Royal Purple 5w-20 High Performance Motor Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is RP too slippery?
I have read that RP has made some changes to their oil recipe and some folks are experiencing oil usage.

I have been using RP for many years and have noticed oil usage of about a 1/2 quart ever 2k miles.

A friend of mine owns a hot rod shop and owns a late model Mustang, he said he had to quit using RP because it was too slippery
and was getting past the rings on the piston. He doesn't sell or use RP any more and has switched over to Amsoil.

Just asking if other folks out there that may be experiencing oil usage when using RP.

This is not a slam on RP.

Thanks
John

Originally Posted By: rooflessVW
I don't know about "too slippery," but my S2000 consumed Royal Purple - not Mobil 1 or Castrol.

Thanks for the reply.
smile.gif

Ring sealing is just a simple function of viscosity. Assuming a mechanically sound engine of course.
"Slippery" implies friction characteristics, which would have zero effect on ring sealing.
Could be extra volatile basestocks are increasing oil consumption, or the particular blend of light vs. heavy basestock oil RP chose to blend.

Originally Posted By: oil_film_movies
Ring sealing is just a simple function of viscosity. Assuming a mechanically sound engine of course.
"Slippery" implies friction characteristics, which would have zero effect on ring sealing.
Could be extra volatile basestocks are increasing oil consumption, or the particular blend of light vs. heavy basestock oil RP chose to blend.

My thought also; many engines show consumption with 20 grade oils, and often fix the issue with a 30 grade.