Why do Transmission shops piddle around?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What is wrong with Transmission shops? Why do they sit on jobs and don't finish them without the customer causing a ruckus?

Just like the airlines, they over book. And when your tranny is tore apart, they know you can't come in and drive off with your vehicle.
Sounds like the tranny shops you have in your area are exactly like the ones in this area.

Makes me wonder if you could assess, remove, disassemble, re-assess, order all the correct parts, modify, rebuild, and reinstall a transmission without making an error in a timely manner.

It's easy to criticize those that we feel are beneath us.

Originally Posted By: Vern_in_IL
What is wrong with Transmission shops? Why do they sit on jobs and don't finish them without the customer causing a ruckus?

You work in the auto industry, you should know all about the OEM's and "just in time" inventory. I'm a semi mechanic. We are occasionally running
into not being able to get a needed part in quick order because no one has it in the U.S. until it's made and shipped. It's getting worse. We needed a particular part once for two semis that wasn't available anywhere and we got corporate brass to hold back on manufacturing two Kenworths to pull the parts from the plant in Chillicothe.

Originally Posted By: skyactiv

You work in the auto industry, you should know all about the OEM's and "just in time" inventory. I'm a semi mechanic. We are occasionally running
into not being able to get a needed part in quick order because no one has it in the U.S. until it's made and shipped. It's getting worse. We needed a particular part once for two semis that wasn't available anywhere and we got corporate brass to hold back on manufacturing two Kenworths to pull the parts from the plant in Chillicothe.
Big trucks sitting is a huge loss of money/cash flow. You can rent a car for not a whole lot of money for a week. of money.

Originally Posted By: Chris142