Surge protection on old 2 wire outlets

Status
Not open for further replies.
Where I live, one of the previous owners replaced some older 2 prong outlets with 3 prong outlets, but there is no equipment ground. The wire going to the outlets only has 2 wires.

I've read that surge protectors won't be able to do their job without the equipment ground. Is there any way to protect electronic devices hooked up to these outlets? I know there are whole house surge protectors, and the option to rewire, but I'm hoping there is something easier I can buy or DIY.

Wow, this is really unsafe and a possible fatal shock hazard. Maybe look into running a ground wire or ground it to the outlet box itself, if possible.

As an example of what CAN happen, many years ago I worked in a factory built in the very early 1900's. The outlets in the place were ancient 2 wire outlets. Our so called "maintenance man" installed a soda machine by cutting the ground prong off the 3 wire plug and filing the plug to fit the 2 wire outlet. I went to get a soda and found quarters conduct electricity really well :) it did not kill me, as I was only 30 and pretty fit. I complained about the "maintenance man" but management did not care :-(

The ground prong is your friend, it keeps you from becoming part of the circuit!

I am not sure about the surge protector needing a ground.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: knerml
If you can run a copper wire from the outlet to a copper water pipe, you can ground it.

+1, this would work, though if youre going through that difficulty, and can reach water pipes in the basement, running new Romex may be better/safer and not that much more difficult.

GFCIs are prudent, even in two wire systems. They may not let a surge protector divert surge voltages to the ground conductor, but in the case of mismatch of current flow, they will cut it out, preventing electrocution.

Originally Posted By: knerml