Adding LED lights to a lawn tractor

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd put a switch in the line so they are only on when you need them to be.

Lower level John Deere tractors are 'unregulated', I over charged my battery once. You can get 1156 LED bulbs but you'd still ahve the marginal factory reflectors.
I don't think a pair of LED, if you don't go wild on wattage, would be any problem at all.

My 2¢

Originally Posted By: Exit32
Yes. I added LED lights to my garden tractor which is equipped with a 4-foot-wide snow-blower attachment and a fully enclosed cab to keep me warm and dry when I'm clearing my 400-ft driveway. I mounted the LED lights on top of the cab and wired them into the existing lighting circuit. The LEDs deliver much better illumination. I disconnected the feeble incandescent lights that came with the tractor, and I've had no issues with the charging system or battery. I've been running this setup for about three years -- no complaints.

FWIW, these are the LED lights I'm using:

http://amzn.com/B00DLZSAAI

thanks for the link X32------if you had to do it again, would you step up to the 48W lights?
Steve

Originally Posted By: TNpowerstroke
You asked a legitimate question. What a bunch [censored] replies. I don't have the answer for your question but the the moronic replies are what keep me from posting on this site.

I missed your intelligent, well thought out reply with solid information?? Did it get lost in the shuffle?

Got the lights in today. They feel substantial, being of mainly metal construction. Some clear RTV silicone got smeared onto the seam between the lens and the housing. Putting painters tape over the lens kept the RTV off the lens.

I was shooting for installation tonight, but between the rain and honey-do list, it didn't happen.

Pics at next update.

Here are the lights all installed: