WISP Internet Problems (Technical) WWYD?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I've been battling with my WISP for two months now regarding an unstable connection. I'm wanting three opinions: what is wrong, what should be done, and who is at fault.

The problem:
I am served by an old TV tower 5 linear (as the bird flies) miles away. Driving, it's 7 miles (3 East, 4 North). My radio is on a 25' tall pole. I have had this service for a year now. There have been issues, but all unrelated, and all were solved. My issue is an erratic ping/latency and UL speed. Let me stress my DL speed is/has been excellent. After some extensive research and testing, I have discovered jitter is also erratic.

This company strives to give you the bandwidth you pay for, even allowing a 1/2 Mbps over your plan for both DL and UL speeds. My plan is 2 Mbps Up/Down for $50/month. I do use this service for gaming, among other things. And before anyone says it's not fast enough, let me say when it works properly it IS. (Note: I am actually set to 3.4 up/down due to what they called "interference" from the beginning.) But a poor UL, ping, and jitter definitely contribute to an unusable environment. And a key stat here is my UL has a major hesitation (measured sometimes in whole seconds) before actually transmitting any data.

They have tried to help, but shrug off the problem (even citing my router to be at fault). For two months I've gone WAY out of my way to prove nothing on my end is wrong (countless speed tests, using different methods, sites, and stats). Then after slapping them with this concrete evidence their connection is lousy, they finally admit fault.