Larger Oil Filter for 2006 Highlander 2.4 Four Cyl

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to Toyota Land, and I'm wondering what is the larger oil filter that matches up to the gasket size of the small motorcycle-sized filter now specified. I'm wishing to use the largest Pure One filter that fits on this car.

I'll be that guy to say that there's no need to worry about smaller oil filters because they'll still likely have filtering capability even after manufacturer's recommended service interval. If you decide to do your own homework, be sure to pay attention to the bypass rating of the larger filter and match it to the specs of the OEM or recommended ones.

The filter you want in Purolator is the PL 14477 which is also the 4 cyl Camry filter after 2001. It's a bit taller. Toyota made it an OEM part for 4 cylinder Camrys back to the 90s.

For Toyota, a lot of us are using PH3600 size filter.
There are a lot of them available like Fram Ultraguard XG3600, Mobil M1-209, Napa Platinum 41516, etc. This is a taller filter but diameter is close to the stock filter and the gasket is about 1 mm larger than stock filter but fit the base nicely.

I have used this size ever since I know about it in my current Sienna and sold Camrys.

There is one that is bigger diameter but it is too big at least on my 2004 Sienna.

Originally Posted By: Samzone
I'm new to Toyota Land, and I'm wondering what is the larger oil filter that matches up to the gasket size of the small motorcycle-sized filter now specified. I'm wishing to use the largest Pure One filter that fits on this car.

LOL
No offense...But
Why do you think you think need a bigger filter?
Do you know something that the Toyota engineers and designers (Ya know, founded in 1937 and is the 13th largest company in the world) don't know?
My son's Sentra 2.0 I4 uses a filter almost the same size as my Frontier's 4.0 V6 and I lose no sleep.
Sometimes...cough cough...bigger isn't better! LOL

cool.gif
Filtration forum
cool.gif