quadrajet tuning for e85

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been opening up my QJs to clean and check jetting. I'm thinking of a strategy to run fat in the primary but still lean for e85 say about halfway in the middle, then complete the final tuning with the secondary metering.

The reasoning is that the carb has to be completely disassembled to get to the primary jets but the secondary metering rods are very easy to swap. They're on a hanger secured by one screw right on top. I can do it in under a minute. I'm an expert on these things.

So I'll swap secondary metering rods based on whether I'm running e10 or e85.

So hopefully we can build a thread to help each other on this. I'll be playing with it all this spring and summer and will update this thread as I learn things. I have a wideband a/f monitor and will be swapping it between the Trans Am and Corvette. Heck I might even do my 84 suburban and jet boat too. From my research you want 9:1 on alcohol rather than 14:1 and those figures are lower under acceleration.

No politics. This is about true enthusiasts using poor man's race fuel. That's it.

The ta has been running poorly since I acquired it popping thru the carb and accelerating poorly. I found 51p primary rods with 72 jets. Someone must have messed this up as it's way lean. I calculated it needs 78 jets for gas. So I ordered 79 to start then 81 and 83 jets for the e85 tune. I'm trying to collect secondary rods but they're expensive. I'm keeping an eye for used ones on eBay.

Last edited:
I used to have problems with the E85 drying out the accelerator pump plunger.

You gotta drive the role pin out and then take the bowl cover off to get the accelerator pump out.