Fuel Dilution

Status
Not open for further replies.

X49

I've got a direct injection turbo engine that is known to have fairly high significant fuel dilution (Subaru FA20DIT).

What I want to know is whether fuel dilution trends upwards over long periods of time or whether fuel contamination will hit a certain percentage then maintain an equilibrium where fuel evaporates as quickly as it is introduced. In other words, will changing the oil more frequently prevent high levels of fuel dilution?

I've been looking for some good scientific papers that cover this but I haven't really found anything relevant.

Im no expert on the topic but ideally get the oil hot enough (avoid short trips). Doing a UOA is likely best to test and find out if your current habits result in fuel dilution in your oil.

A bit of fuel dilution now is not the real problem, for for a longer drive. The real problem is what happens in a few years when stuff starts wearing out and needs replacing. Sounds expensive.

I'm a short tripper and my car's dipstick makes oil constantly. I can also lower the oil level with a good 50 mile highway run. And, when the oil is diluted with fuel, it is very noticeably thinner when checking the cold oil level.

Hows that for a scientific paper?

If you're a short tripper, you need regular highway runs to evap that fuel. Another option is to change oil more frequently. And, I'd recommend a thicker oil.

GM's OLM reprogram hints at the issue with wear vs dilution vs interval vs ...

There are several bypass filters with 'heated' elements that cook and vent off the fuel vapors, moisture... Work great but not worth the investment for all.

And, you could always use the combination engine block heater and oil pan heater, to get vehicle up to temperature quicker.

Makes me wonder if I should use an oversized oil pan heater to boil off the fuel when vehicle is parked in the driveway. Wouldn't want to cook off the fuel in the garage and then light a pipe or cigar.