Goodyear Viva 3 or Yokohama AVID Touring - S

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
Getting some cheap tires for my Camry. Just gonna get 2 for now. Walmart has Goodyear Viva 3 for $64 each on rollback and I called Discount Tire and they said the comparable tire they can price match to $64 each are the Yokohama AVID Touring - S.

So which ones would you get? I have no experience with either one.

Size 205/65-15

I've owned two sets of Yoko Avid Touring S purchased from DT, 195/60-15 on a Civic. Very good value tire that I got 60-65k miles on both sets before replacement not quite to wear bars. Decent ride and handling. Off my experience, I'd have no reservations recommending them.

Can't speak to the Viva as never owned. Just me but all things being equal or close, I'd much rather purchase from DT.

Replaced last Avids recently with Cooper CS5 Grand Touring using an excellent $195 back in rebates on set of four at DT July 4th promo. Too good to pass on.

Most tires from the Viva line haven't been terribly impressive, but the new Viva 3 looks decent. It has a ton of siping and should do well in foul weather.

0069766212496_500X500.jpg

Being in Phoenix, foul weather traction probably doesn't appeal to you all that much. And tread compound is likely more influential in dry and wet traction (vs aquaplane resistance, etc) than tread shape is.

Of the 2 sellers DT is much better than WM.

Of the 2 tires I have good experience with Yokohama AVID Touring-S on my LS400.

DT with Yoko wins 2 out of 2.

Had Viva 2 on my dad's civic briefly for 1 week, didn't work out (there was a shimmying issue during high speed that WM couldn't resolve)

Per WM manager's recommendation: submit the price difference and then upgraded to GY Viva Touring and no problem since. Ride was smooth and very predictable...

Looking @ Viva 3 at this moment for I shall need to get rid of my worn Optimo 4S soon (next spring).

Q.