BMW N52 - highly stressed engine- oil recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: ecotourist
Finally I suspect you're going to have overheating problems. BMW's cooling systems don't seem to be the greatest and with low speeds on grades and such you're not going to have as much airflow as you would at higher speeds.

My 530i has no problems with cooling capacity nor with capability at low speeds, in fact it seems a bit over-sized if anything. The problem is usually with reliability related to age, not performance.

Originally Posted By: Paul
Trailer is 3500lbs. It's not so much the weight as the aerodynamics at highway speeds. Its a parachute behind the car.

I think perhaps I need to rephrase my question as there will be as many opinions as posters.

Can I improve on the GC 0W-30 that I have been using in the BMW for the last 6 yrs. given that the vehicle will enter "sever-duty", for 10-12hrs at a time, with a good chunk of that time being spent at full throttle?

Thank you all again

3500 lb travel trailer being pulled by a car with a 2.5L engine. Presumably with a full load of people and belongings enough for a 20k mile road trip. That's definitely working it hard. Make sure the cooling system is in perfect working order, for sure. Does the car have an oil cooler? Get gauges. Coolant and oil temperatures, trans temperature, oil pressure. I think I would stop working the engine hard if the coolant temperature gets over 220F, and the oil over 280F. Maybe run a lean coolant mixture of 30% antifreeze/70% water. With Purple Ice or Water Wetter additive.