All terrain Tires - What to look for

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 2006 Colorado is needing new tires. Currently I have 245/70/17 LTX AT2 on there. I want something a little more off roadish as the Michelins are great street tires, but that is not what I bought the Z71 4X4 for.

I have never bought truck tires before, this is my first time.

Because this is my daily driver, I do not want Mud tires, but an A/T tire that has excellent snow/mud traction for when I do go off road, and to cope with WA snow/slush/ice when it does hit.

Right now I am looking at getting 265/65/17 Goodyear DuraTracs. And I plan on having them siped at the dealer.

Any info on what to look for, or recommendations would be appreciated.

Agree on the DuraTrac.

Originally Posted By: Brigadier
And I plan on having them siped at the dealer.

No. Absolutely not.

Look at bfg all terain tako2. Spendy but worth it. Nitto tires makes a good tire as well.

The only problem I have seen is that good years seem to throw a belt if tire maintance is neglected

cooper discoverer AT/3

One of the best AT tires at the best price.

They also don't need additional siping.

they would be around 560$-75-60 rebates=
425$ after MIR (not including tax but including shipping)

you could also get that price at a local discounttire(plenty in Washington)
by having them pricematch their sister company
discounttiredirect.com

Additional siping can cause bad chunking offroad.
Molded in siping is much better than cut in siping.

Last edited:
Why no aftermarket siping?

Looking at the tires in the showroom, the factory siping is only on the surface. Aftermarket siping goes deeper, and is there as the tire wears.

I have had my PC tires siped and it does make the tire's effectiveness last as the tires wear.

And I do not go off road regularly, so I am not worried about the chunking.

Last edited:
I forgot about coopers new discoverer rtx good aggressive tire with good siping