Considering a career change, picking up a trade

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi folks,

This is the most out there post I've ever thrown at the BITOG crew,
but I'm thinking about a career change.

I've been doing Mechanical design/ Engineering work for almost 12 years. I'm just frustrated with the desk work and the vague results, and my ability to find interesting work now that we're living in Alberta. It seems like if you're in the field and aren't in oil the jobs are scarce and the pay is low.

I've been wondering about branching out in my career, BUT, I'm specialized enough that it's really difficult. companies usually look for specific experience from what I've seen over the years.

I'm thinking about a trade. My family has been involved in Plumbing for over 100 years, and I've done it off and on. I'm 36 now though, and don't want to tear my body to shreds (although I'm fit and relatively ache free)

I was thinking CNC machining as well, the schooling isn't terrible and it's an easy progression from what I've been doing.

THEN, I think I'll just suck it up, and settle in for another 25 years of desk jockeying.

Ok, so that was more of a blog. Any thoughts, shoot them my way.

Thanks,

Ryan

Do you have a bachelors arts/science degree? Plumbing might be OK if you owned your own business. Oil is a boom/bust career. With engineering you may need to move to an area where there are companies needing mechanical engineers. How about aircraft engineering for someone like Boeing.

Last edited:
Being a cab driver is better than delivering pizzas. Being a courier is better than being a cab driver. Being a plumber is better than being a carpenter. Being an electrician is better than being a plumber. Being a handsome, in-demand movie actor is better than any of these.

Haha, thanks guys. Well at least I'm laughing now.

Yeah, I think I'm over thinking it. I need to point and shoot.