Tool Review: HF 170 amp MIG welder

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a novice welder, but I have a product that I've designed that I want to build and sell. I need to make quite a few short welds in relatively thin (1/8") steel. I need them to look good, so that I don't have to grind too much before powder coating. I tried stick welding them, and that would probably work OK if I had a little more skill, but I've settled on MIG welding as the way to go. I tried flux-core welding, but I like MIG a lot better for this.

I'm finally beginning to understand MIG welding, which has been harder for me than stick. The hardest thing for me to understand has been the relationship between voltage, amperage, and wire speed. I've gotten lots of good info from the weldingtipsandtricks channel on youtube. Jody seems to run a primarily MIG shop, although he does some stick and TIG, too. So now, I'm finally running beads that seem strong, and are fairly flat, instead of weak, tall, and ropy.

I bought this machine because it was cheap, and seemed to have enough power. It has 4 voltage settings, and variable wire speed. Right now, you can get it for $199, and I think I paid even less. I've had it for about a year, and it has mostly sat outdoors, and it's been rained on a couple of times. It comes with one drive wheel, which has a smooth .023 groove, and a knurled .030 groove. There are no other rollers available, so I have to use the knurled side for .030 solid wire. As far as I can tell, this is a "disposable" machine, i.e., not much available in the way of repair parts. Maximum amperage is 170 amps, and duty cycle is 20% @ 110 amps. Nothing too spectacular there.