Cost to service drum brakes?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I've never had a car that I have serviced with drum brakes, they've all been discs since I started wrenching a few years ago. No experience with drums at all.

The Olds has rear drums. When I got new tires installed last week the shop installing them mentioned they are shot, including leaking wheel cylinders.

As I have zero experience with this type of repair...what would I need to know to service the brakes including tools. I know drums can be adjusted, but honestly have no clue what I'm doing with them. Or what an average cost to expect from an independent mechanic for this job. I'm guessing new drums, shoes, and wheel cylinders as these are likely 22 year old originals. What am I forgetting or need to know?

You will need to replace vitually everything. New hardware kit with new springs and ajusters,new wheel cylinders and a brake fluid flush, new shoes of course and if it were mine, new drums as well. Parts are not overly expensive. The job can be a pain in the rear if you have never done them.

Last edited:
That's what I was guessing. It looks like I can get a kit from Centric for about $125 or so to replace everything. I just don't know if I need any special tools to put everything together and how to set the adjustment.

That being said, I have a GM service manual on the way, figure it would be better than Haynes and was cheaper to boot.

Can you even get the drums off with the tools you have? That would require removing a plug from the backside, turning the star wheel to retract the shoes, and hoping it pulls off.

I think just that will either have you running for a mechanic or deciding this is a horrible dirty mess but I can see everything and figure it out from here.