Recent Topics
Champion generator with remote start
by Vikas. 11/17/18 12:58 PM
Autozone clearance has started!
by jasonal. 11/17/18 12:49 PM
Midgrade 89 Octane ?
by Kjmack. 11/17/18 11:54 AM
$0 medicare advantage plans??
by danez_yoda. 11/17/18 11:53 AM
Jack Lalanne
by CourierDriver. 11/17/18 11:38 AM
2015 Chrysler T&C Slow To Warm
by badtlc. 11/17/18 11:30 AM
9 mm or .22? I'm torn.
by Eosyn. 11/17/18 11:15 AM
Blower motor recommendations
by 53' Stude. 11/17/18 11:12 AM
Amsoil CVT
by ARB1977. 11/17/18 11:05 AM
Weird Battery Failure.
by George7941. 11/17/18 10:35 AM
Pro-Max Syn Oil 5w30..5qt for $18.65
by Warstud. 11/17/18 10:32 AM
Recommend a workhorse "no frills" snowblower
by Audios. 11/17/18 09:50 AM
Douglas Tires anyone?
by Carbon12. 11/17/18 09:37 AM
Cummins QSB oil viscosity recommendations
by jrmason. 11/17/18 09:29 AM
Easy walking
by CourierDriver. 11/17/18 09:22 AM
Rain-x Wiper Blades
by Snagglefoot. 11/17/18 09:09 AM
How long does Stabil last?
by Audios. 11/17/18 08:09 AM
Lubrication of Chop Saws
by Snagglefoot. 11/17/18 07:58 AM
Newest Members
portypota, babake, messenger300, Sammeh, Dan6074
66454 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
76 registered members (another Todd, Audios, beanoil, bdcardinal, 12 invisible), 2,268 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics293,643
Posts4,902,055
Members66,454
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty #3472152
09/02/14 06:21 PM
09/02/14 06:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Ranger1 Offline OP
Ranger1  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Hello all,

After cleaning some acid / corrosion of a negative battery terminal, I reconnected my battery cables to the battery. Now my odometer says 'Error' all the time. Otherwise, my 2008 Liberty runs fine.

Has anyone run into this issue on a Jeep? Does anyone know why this happened? And better yet, how do you fix this?

Thank you.

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472174
09/02/14 06:31 PM
09/02/14 06:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,111
Mahzurrah!
KCJeep Offline
KCJeep  Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,111
Mahzurrah!
You can try the turn-key-codes procedure to see if it will reset. If you are not familiar with it, turn the key on then back off three times within 5 seconds, just far enough to turn everything on without actually engaging the starter. The last time you turn it off it should give you codes, or in your case maybe it will reset.

If that doesn't work I'd try disconnecting the battery again for over 30 minutes before reconnecting it.

If that doesn't work the Liberty Forum on Jeep Forum should be able to help you.


2018 VW Passat GT VR6 - New FF
12 KIA Sedona 92k - PP HM 10w30
09 Ford Focus 131k - Supertech FS HM 5w30
00 Chev Lumina 203k - Supertech FS HM 5w30
04 Jeep Grand Cherokee gone but not forgotten.
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472190
09/02/14 06:38 PM
09/02/14 06:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Ranger1 Offline OP
Ranger1  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
KCJeep... OK. I tried your key trick, but nothing happened. Previously, I tried disconnecting the battery for a full hour, which also did not work.

Also, I tried pushing-in the Trip Odometer button for several seconds. This did show me the labels for "Var 1" thru "Var 15", but I did not see any corresponding values. (Not sure what to do to view them.) Plus, I do not have a decoder book to tell me what they would mean either.

Last edited by Ranger1; 09/02/14 06:39 PM.
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472245
09/02/14 07:12 PM
09/02/14 07:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,094
Colorado
Kuato Offline
Kuato  Offline
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,094
Colorado
Next time, you may want to try holding the + and - battery terminals together to drain the power from the system, while both are disconnected from the battery.

Do you have the owner's manual? If not, you can download here: http://www.jeep.com/en/owners/manuals/

Edit: after looking at the owner's manual, if the power drain doesn't work, I don't know...dealer may be involved. Did you do anything in addition to cleaning the battery terminals? Did water enter anything under the hood?

Last edited by Kuato; 09/02/14 07:18 PM.

Thick vs Thin test: 15k / 43k miles complete
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472267
09/02/14 07:19 PM
09/02/14 07:19 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,674
NE
VNTS Offline
VNTS  Offline
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,674
NE
Disconnect the battery again, leave it off for 10 minutes, reconnect and see what happens.

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472283
09/02/14 07:25 PM
09/02/14 07:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Ranger1 Offline OP
Ranger1  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
I have had the battery disconnected a few times now. The longest time being for an hour. And so far, nothing has changed. It still says 'Error'.

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472427
09/02/14 09:00 PM
09/02/14 09:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,848
FEMA Region 4
jk_636 Offline
jk_636  Offline
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,848
FEMA Region 4
Do you have a good scan tool? And if so does it throw any codes?


2006 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 (Supertech 5w30 + OCOD)

2012 Ford Escape 3.0 (Royal Purple 0w20 + Fram Ultra)
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472438
09/02/14 09:06 PM
09/02/14 09:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,180
CT
hattaresguy Offline
hattaresguy  Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,180
CT
Nice, drive it for 3-4 years than fix it...

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472518
09/02/14 10:13 PM
09/02/14 10:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 220
Massachusetts
babbittd Offline
babbittd  Offline
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 220
Massachusetts
Originally Posted By: Ranger1
I have had the battery disconnected a few times now. The longest time being for an hour. And so far, nothing has changed. It still says 'Error'.


This seems to be fairly common problem with Jeeps

these might help. a lot of talk about dealers "flashing" the PCM.

http://www.lostjeeps.com/forum/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=88&t=77042

http://www.lostjeeps.com/forum/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=88&t=71955

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f292/error-odometer-spot-1387217/


Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3472540
09/02/14 10:42 PM
09/02/14 10:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Ranger1 Offline OP
Ranger1  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Well, my Jeep was fine before I cleaned the battery terminal. Hopefully, the re-flashing of the PCM will solve it. But, since I do not have a scanner/programmer tool, and it seems like you need the right one to do it, then it looks like I need to go to the dealer.

I will post my results from the Dealer, likely in another day or two.

Or, if anyone comes across other solutions that worked, please let me know.

Thanks everyone.

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3473329
09/03/14 08:12 PM
09/03/14 08:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,848
FEMA Region 4
jk_636 Offline
jk_636  Offline
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,848
FEMA Region 4
By your own professional grade scan tool. They aren't that expensive and you will use it a lot more often than you think. One of the best tools (if not the best) I have ever bought.


2006 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 (Supertech 5w30 + OCOD)

2012 Ford Escape 3.0 (Royal Purple 0w20 + Fram Ultra)
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3473641
09/04/14 06:47 AM
09/04/14 06:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,935
Onondaga County
Miller88 Offline
Miller88  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,935
Onondaga County
Only Chrysler ... That's worse than some cars disabling the radio.


18 Forester 2.5I 6M
00 Jeep Cherokee
01 Ford F-350 XL 4x4 5M
Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3490528
09/22/14 08:08 PM
09/22/14 08:08 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Ranger1 Offline OP
Ranger1  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
Lehigh Valley, PA
Hello again. Well, it took me a bit longer until I could get to the dealer, but I got it fixed now.

Yup... they needed to reprogram the PCM.... for $62.

One interesting note... The mileage read exactly where it left off at. So, I now have a few extra miles on it that aren't on the odometer.

They did mention there were some other software updates available for the computers, but I would have to pay for them too. (Not interested right now.) But, they did say one of them may help a lag when shifting around 45 mph.

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Ranger1] #3491113
09/23/14 10:39 AM
09/23/14 10:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
NY
BIGJ552000 Offline
BIGJ552000  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
NY
Wow.....looks like we are going down a very dark path with car manufacturers. Now we have to pay for software updates that they originally caused these issues SHOULD take care of it for free in the first place. Especially when it had to do with safety or in this case mileage where on a title you have to state that the mileage is true and correct. But with dodge, chrysler products you really never know. Well buyer beware!

Re: Odometer says "Error" - 2008 Jeep Liberty [Re: Miller88] #3491144
09/23/14 11:01 AM
09/23/14 11:01 AM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,398
MI
doitmyself Offline
doitmyself  Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,398
MI
Originally Posted By: Miller88
Only Chrysler ... That's worse than some cars disabling the radio.


But not even close to a car that applies it's brakes by itself (no foot on the pedal) due to electronic glitches: http://money.cnn.com/2013/03/14/autos/honda-acura-recall/

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™