Should I use Lubegard Red?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just recently did a pan drop, filter and fill on my Trailblazer. Got out about 5 quarts and replaced another 2 quarts out awhile after through the dipstick hole, so I have a majority of the old fluid out. I have been reading good things about Lubegard red and had been thinking of trying it. Anything I need to worry about using this in my 4L60E?

I've been using Lubeguard Red for about 5 years now and on 3 different vehicles. These vehicles have all been in great running condition and I didn't notice any difference.

That said, this stuff is supposed to provide many benefits, particularly with transmission temperature. It is inexpensive, recommended by some manufacturers and transmission shops, so why not?

Originally Posted By: 901Memphis
Lubeguard is not needed with dex 6 but if you used a mineral dex/merc it has some benefits.

I use LubeGard Red in the same vehicle with Petro-Canada Dexron-VI and monitor my ATF temperatures rigorously with my ScanGauge-II. Adding two bottles of LGR dropped my ATF temperatures by an average of 11 F and did away with torque converter shudder. It also cured hard shifts when the unit is cold.

My suggestion to the OP would be to use it, albeit go with a higher dose (2 bottles) instead of the standard recommendation.

Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
Lubeguard is not needed with dex 6 but if you used a mineral dex/merc it has some benefits.

I use LubeGard Red in the same vehicle with Petro-Canada Dexron-VI and monitor my ATF temperatures rigorously with my ScanGauge-II. Adding two bottles of LGR dropped my ATF temperatures by an average of 11 F and did away with torque converter shudder. It also cured hard shifts when the unit is cold.

My suggestion to the OP would be to use it, albeit go with a higher dose (2 bottles) instead of the standard recommendation.