Recent Topics
New Stihl BR 430 backpack leaf blower!
by thunderfog
11/17/17 05:06 PM
Packing at home.
by bigj_16
11/17/17 04:43 PM
New Tesla Truck - 500mi Range, 1M mi Guarantee
by StevieC
11/17/17 04:40 PM
"Gas" Station of the future....
by Shannow
11/17/17 04:36 PM
Rotella T6 Multi Vehicle 5W-30
by bigj_16
11/17/17 04:15 PM
BMW 335d w/o DPF - M1 TDT or RT6?
by Davll
11/17/17 03:57 PM
right bolts for wheel bearings? '14 Volt
by earlyre
11/17/17 02:42 PM
Please help me understand
by Sierra048
11/17/17 01:32 PM
Fuel storage tip
by bubbatime
11/17/17 12:39 PM
Sentury and Dextero Tires ?
by rkpatt
11/17/17 12:27 PM
Michelin Sale at BJs
by knerml
11/17/17 11:03 AM
It'll do 130 mph in third gear
by HosteenJorje
11/17/17 11:01 AM
Microsoft Surface Pro battery going bad
by Alfred_B
11/17/17 10:36 AM
Tirerack now stocks Vredestein
by Finklejag
11/17/17 10:21 AM
3800 series ll vs lll
by Duffyjr
11/17/17 10:15 AM
Used 0w20 instead of 5w40
by AVG
11/17/17 10:01 AM
your strange siblings.....
by pandus13
11/17/17 08:49 AM
2013 Camry hood strut failure while the hood is up
by windeye
11/17/17 08:01 AM
Tesla has come out with a new Roadster, 0-60 1.9
by Cujet
11/17/17 07:19 AM
Unwise to use X-30 where 5w-20 is specified?
by Sealbilly
11/17/17 06:30 AM
Newest Members
Cthulhu, Diesel583, btush, Davll, palebird
63424 Registered Users
Who's Online
95 registered (Balrog006, 4WD, ammolab, bdcardinal, 2009Edge, 5 invisible), 1948 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
63424 Members
66 Forums
273940 Topics
4552374 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3389226 - 06/04/14 11:17 PM Honda ATF temp via scan tool?
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1670
Loc: Arizona
I'd really like to have the ability to watch ATF temps in a 2013 Honda pickup. I know the data is there in the OBD II data, because there is a temp sensor in the tranny, and because Honda can monitor ATF temps with their dealer tools. I had hoped that the ScanGauge II would do it (the company is 'local' to me), but it will not on Hondas.

Do you know of any scan tools that an 'average joe' can afford that will display ATF temps in Hondas? Thanks.
_________________________
Non-political signature NOT removed

Top
#3389229 - 06/04/14 11:18 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
michaelluscher Online   content


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2263
Loc: Staten Island, NY
Torque pro should be able to do it
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
#3389237 - 06/04/14 11:24 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1670
Loc: Arizona
Interesting, thanks. I do not personally own a cellular phone of any type, and my work one is a Blackberry. I have a personal Blackberry tablet. I'm thinking Torque PRO will not be an option for me(?)

I'll muck around their forum a bit.
_________________________
Non-political signature NOT removed

Top
#3389364 - 06/05/14 05:50 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Olas Offline


Registered: 12/11/13
Posts: 3737
Loc: Manchester, England
If a blackberry tablet will support Apps then you're done smile

If not, you need to buy a cheap smartphone that supports Apps, or get a multimeter and splice into the wires that connect to the sensor.

Chances are its a thermistor - once you know if its NTC or PTC you can watch the values on your meter and know how hot it is wink
_________________________
1982 VW Scirocco
1457cc
98 bhp
78000 miles
Redline fluids
Mann/Mahle filters

Top
#3389376 - 06/05/14 06:11 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 11108
Loc: NorthEast
Since this is not in the standard OBD-II PID, it is more likely that amateur scanners will NOT be able to get the transmission oil temperature. Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!

Now if somebody has reverse engineered the Honda scanner (HDS) and found the appropriate PID and managed to convince TorquePro to include that in their software, it will get that temperature. I do not believe that has happened yet.

Top
#3389381 - 06/05/14 06:18 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
Olas Offline


Registered: 12/11/13
Posts: 3737
Loc: Manchester, England
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Since this is not in the standard OBD-II PID, it is more likely that amateur scanners will NOT be able to get the transmission oil temperature. Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!

Now if somebody has reverse engineered the Honda scanner (HDS) and found the appropriate PID and managed to convince TorquePro to include that in their software, it will get that temperature. I do not believe that has happened yet.


Probably true..
All the more reason to find out the specs of the sensor and splice your multimeter into the wires. You'd be surprised how quickly you learn to convert Ohms to Degrees C.
_________________________
1982 VW Scirocco
1457cc
98 bhp
78000 miles
Redline fluids
Mann/Mahle filters

Top
#3389383 - 06/05/14 06:23 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 16503
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Originally Posted By: bulwnkl
I'd really like to have the ability to watch ATF temps in a 2013 Honda pickup. I know the data is there in the OBD II data, because there is a temp sensor in the tranny, and because Honda can monitor ATF temps with their dealer tools. I had hoped that the ScanGauge II would do it (the company is 'local' to me), but it will not on Hondas.

Do you know of any scan tools that an 'average joe' can afford that will display ATF temps in Hondas? Thanks.


I have scan tools that give me this info but they are not cheap. The best and cheapest thing to use is a add on gauge.
On the Honda an in-line electric sending unit will work fine. You could even do a 2 or 3 gauge pod and add engine oil temp and pressure.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3389446 - 06/05/14 07:45 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
supton Offline


Registered: 11/09/08
Posts: 11025
Loc: NH
Scanguage do the trick? Found this thread:
http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45402
and it indicates that SG will read trans temp.

Looks like the temp sensor wiring is easy to get to:
http://www.hondapartscheap.com/honda/rid...temperature-atf
Part #14.
_________________________
2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 149k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 139k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 167k, his

Top
#3389805 - 06/05/14 02:01 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Hokiefyd Offline


Registered: 06/24/04
Posts: 14505
Loc: Top of Virginia
On both of our Hondas, Torque Pro displays the "transmission fluid temperature", but it's simply a mirror of the "engine coolant temperature". It looks like you can program a custom PID into a ScanGauge; that's neat. I don't think you can do this with Torque Pro.

Top
#3389888 - 06/05/14 03:43 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1670
Loc: Arizona
The BB Playbook will run most all Android apps. That's why Google no longer lets you download apps from websites; only from them and only if you have a registered android phone. wink

That ROC thread is interesting. My search there missed it, and my live-person phone call to Linear Logic yesterday conflicted with what that person has. I'll have to give LL another call.

On a related note, I know where the factory ATF temp sensor is, and I know what 'normal operating temp' should be, voltage-wise. What I don't know is what temp is 'normal' to Honda's FSM writers. smile The range of voltage the FSM says the sending unit should show me is 0.2 - 4.0 V, with 'normal operating temp' at 1.8 V. Any thoughts as to whether this general info is likely compatible with aftermarket gauges, such as Autometers?

Thanks for the help everyone!
_________________________
Non-political signature NOT removed

Top
#3390011 - 06/05/14 05:41 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 11108
Loc: NorthEast
Isn't there an external thermocouple which you can hook up to the transmission case to get an idea about the fluid temperature? It would be lot simpler to do that way rather than splicing in to factory internal temperature sensor.

Top
#3390069 - 06/05/14 07:14 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1670
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Isn't there an external thermocouple which you can hook up to the transmission case to get an idea about the fluid temperature? It would be lot simpler to do that way rather than splicing in to factory internal temperature sensor.


The factory sensor is easy to access, and the wiring would be super-simple; just 2 posi-taps and done.

I've considered an external thermocouple. What's the correlation between external case temp and sump or internal temp in any particular area? IME external pan temps aren't that tightly correlated with bulk or specific-area internal temps on engines. Not so sure about A/Ts.
_________________________
Non-political signature NOT removed

Top
#3390237 - 06/05/14 10:58 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
michaelluscher Online   content


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2263
Loc: Staten Island, NY
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!
Oh do hold up!


It's not perfect, But it's damm close to a multiple thousand dollar SnapOn and Autel scan tools. And if you have a Ford, FORScan is really close to a IDS.

It's Pro, for $25.
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
#3390419 - 06/06/14 07:13 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 11108
Loc: NorthEast
I (niether should you) don't expect a $4.95 scanner to substitute $5000 scanner (and annual fee of $5000 to go with it). Granted, that $4.95 scanner does beat all of the other $495 scanners in the market.

And that is NOT a slam on Ian or Torque Pro; it is the best option for us aka non-professionals.

I was not aware of the FORScan. Are there other add-ons for other manufacturers aka HDS/Techstream emulations?

Top
#3391128 - 06/06/14 10:04 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
michaelluscher Online   content


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2263
Loc: Staten Island, NY
Understood......
I'd get a Maxidas if I could score the cheap $250 eBay ones

FORScan is a CANBUS FoMoCo exclusive only, there's some support for hybrids, Jag, LR, Mazda etc.....

For Honda's I don't have a solution
There's some knockoff Techstreams on eBay that kinda work, I've gotta get me one.

I hear highly of AutoEnginuity, but $.
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
#3391183 - 06/06/14 11:28 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 11108
Loc: NorthEast
I was asking if Torque Pro has any extensions or add-ons for Honda or Toyota.

Top
#3391559 - 06/07/14 04:14 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
michaelluscher Online   content


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2263
Loc: Staten Island, NY
http://torque-bhp.com/wiki/Plugins

Unfortunately, Not at this time.
But its a crowd sourced/shareware deal, so it may be created one day.
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >