Recent Topics
Trailblazer tire pressures
by zrxkawboy - 03/31/20 06:01 AM
Lincoln MKZ hybrid / Sitting for 6+ weeks
by Ammofirst - 03/31/20 04:01 AM
Megapulse VEE System
by toyota62 - 03/31/20 01:35 AM
If only I had more time...
by 14Accent - 03/31/20 12:34 AM
Pennzoil Ultra Platinum 0W-40 availability.
by LTZ10 - 03/30/20 11:01 PM
Brake Fluid testing - moisture & copper
by DIY4quality - 03/30/20 10:49 PM
My E46 with BMW Style 225M wheels
by SLO_Town - 03/30/20 10:49 PM
2019/2020 VW Jetta GLI
by TCU_Adam - 03/30/20 10:00 PM
Inner Core Oil Filter
by QuangTeo - 03/30/20 09:56 PM
245/65/R17
by KE7JFF - 03/30/20 09:42 PM
Replace fuel sending unit or just roll with it?
by cwilliamsws6 - 03/30/20 09:37 PM
lawn sprinkler troubleshooting
by Burt - 03/30/20 07:44 PM
Air conditioner in a toyota avalon
by ChrisSnowden - 03/30/20 06:11 PM
CV axle shaft vertical play?
by JHZR2 - 03/30/20 05:29 PM
This is how it's done!
by Mad_Hatter - 03/30/20 04:56 PM
Android to PC pictures?
by Eddie - 03/30/20 04:30 PM
Crazy fixes that worked
by IMSA_Racing_Fan - 03/30/20 01:39 PM
Cadillac CTS 4 AWD driveline care and feeding
by IMSA_Racing_Fan - 03/30/20 12:13 PM
Newest Members
SantiagoT, cabriopeugeot, Z08969, TCU_Adam, deaner1979
71063 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
98 registered members (55hambone, alchargo, 007, 4WD, ARCOgraphite, 94astro, 7 invisible), 1,297 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics303,499
Posts5,235,265
Members71,063
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener #3341165 04/13/14 02:44 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
I will start by saying thank you in advance for the help and guidance and that I have searched numerous websites and still cannot find the answers. I also made a visit to my local Sears store and they were not able to help me. I was told based on the 3 button design of my remote I had a 7 or 9 slider pin model garage door opener at home.

I am attempting to program a new remote for my grandmother who has a Craftsman Garage Door Opener. It is misplaced frequently so having a spare seems prudent. The model number of the garage door opener itself is 139.655000 and it at least 20 years old if not older.( I found a pdf of the manual online which is how I know the receiver and remote have been replaced.) It would appear the wall mounted transmitting unit failed and it was replaced with a Craftsman Universal Receiver Model # 139.53755. It has a green LED light but does not have the green learn button that is referenced in the Craftsman Owner's Manuals that I have found on line. All of these manuals reference and show a picture of a SRT button which is not on the back or sides of the universal receiver. I took it apart and it does not have the 7 or 9 slider pins that are found in the older models. A newer style remote (the only one I have) with a green LED light has a model # 139.53779. I also took the remote apart just to make sure it did not have the slider pins inside of it.

My question is how do I program the new remote to work with this system?

The only thought I have at this point is there is a hole on the side of the Universal Receiver that looks like some sort of reset button. I am leery of trying this to see what happens as the safest way for my grandmother to enter and exit the house is through the inner door to the garage and then out the overhead garage door.

Thanks again for sharing your guidance and wisdom.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341243 04/13/14 08:11 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 147
D
dave180 Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 147
Normally the "learn" feature is depressing a button on the head unit which might have a blinking led. Then, while that is blinking you would depress the door button on the remote and the blink would turn to a steady light. Some older models did have dip switches and you would just place them all in identical matching positions on head and remote.

BTW, upon re-read of your post, there would not be a learn button on the remote, only the head unit. And, to avoid confusion, the wall units are nowadays just remotes screwed down to the wall with a battery in them. Always use a fresh alkaline battery too.

Last edited by dave180; 04/13/14 08:14 AM.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo X
2009 Toyota Camry LE
2011 Honda CRV EX-L
Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341313 04/13/14 09:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,560
M
michaelluscher Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,560
I'd suggest scrapping those older, less secure, and not as good a range Billion Code remote/receiver combo and just replace it.

It's a relatively inexpensive proposition
Don't forget, with the newer frequencies, you have many more choice of remote. There's car keyfob profile one's, A keypad, If her car has homelink, Use that. Or just the plain 1 big button remote.
A new 315mhz Security+ plug in receiver
Ebay listing And a new one button 371LM, Your only controlling one door right? Ebay listing


2006 Toyota Camry SE V6

131k
Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341369 04/13/14 10:39 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
Dave 180, thanks for the reply. The head unit only has a red manual reset button on it and there are no LED lights on the head unit. Plus the manual for the head unit makes no mention of using the reset button on the head unit for programming remotes.

The universal receiver model that I have is similar to ones that I can find a manual for and those are shown to have the learn button on the back of the receiver and not on the head unit.

I emailed with Sears support this morning and all they can tell me is a replacement remote is not available for the part number I have provided however I can find remotes with my current model number on the Sears website in addition to a number of 3rd party sellers. They did not answer my question about how to program the remote or reprogram my current remote.

One would not think this would be so complicated.
Thanks again for your help.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341387 04/13/14 11:06 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
michaelluscher thanks for the response. It may come down to replacing the receiver unit and getting new remotes. I sent follow up questions to Sears and got a new response with new info that is some contradictory to the initial response. From the info provided I was able to find a table at Sears.com that showed a LiftMaster opener 81.LM as a compatible option but is has to be programmed.

I was also provided a link to a Sear product much like the one you referenced in your post that appears to be a new receiver unit that will work with the new remotes.

It is only controlling one door. There is a second door with a new opener and receiver that is about 7 years old. We are set in our ways and want to use the door she has used for the last 60 plus years. Makes me wonder what would happen if I replaced the old receiver with a newer one if that would create problems for the other door and opener.

Thanks again.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341509 04/13/14 01:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10,483
D
dishdude Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10,483
The red button is the programming button, there were several different versions over the years that all looked the same but worked with incompatible remotes. There were the dip switches as you mentioned, and red, green and purple program buttons.

They sell a universal remote called Clicker at Home Depot/Lowe's that will work with all of them.

If you're trying to get the original Craftsman remote, you need to purchase the correct one based on the color of your programming button. As of a few years ago, they still sold them at Sears.

They are rebadged LiftMasters, so if you find a store that stocks LM you can purchase one of those as well.


2018 Challenger SRT 392 PUP 0w-40 Wix 57899XP
2018 GTI M1 Euro 0w-40 Wix WL10024
2019 Tiguan Castrol Edge Pro 0w-20
Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341610 04/13/14 03:19 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
dishdude thank you.

So if the red button is the programming button then how does one program the remotes? I went back and reread the owners manual I downloaded last night and there is no mention of the red button on the head unit being a program button. It is referred to as the manual reset switch. My apologies for the all questions, I just want to avoid the opener not working for an extended period of time. I do not care what remote is used as long as the button on the wall and the remote she leaves the house with work. I will look on line for the the Clicker at Home Depot.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341624 04/13/14 03:39 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
I did some reading on the Liftmaster/Chamberlin website and the pictures/instructions they show for the different colored reset buttons do not look like the button and wire configuration I have on the back of the Craftsman head unit. I will call them in the morning to see what they have to say. It does appear they offer a new receiver/remote package that seems very similar to what is int the garage now and if the manual is correct the smart button is located on the back of the receiver and not the head unit.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341634 04/13/14 03:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10,483
D
dishdude Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10,483
That red button is the programming button. Press it and you have 15 sec to press and hold the button on the remote you want to enroll. If successful, the 60 watt bulb will blink and the door will open or close. If you're trying to program in a remote made for a green or purple button, it won't work.



2018 Challenger SRT 392 PUP 0w-40 Wix 57899XP
2018 GTI M1 Euro 0w-40 Wix WL10024
2019 Tiguan Castrol Edge Pro 0w-20
Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: PurpleT] #3341747 04/13/14 06:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 147
D
dave180 Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 147
I really wonder if Sear's tech support or lack thereof is just an attempt to have you abandon the remote issue entirely and just buy a brand new opener w/remotes from them.

In the future, if it comes to it, go to HD or Menards and buy a Chamberlain. I recently bought a new replacement remote for my 8-9 year old unit and had it programmed and in the car in about 3 minutes.


2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo X
2009 Toyota Camry LE
2011 Honda CRV EX-L
Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: dishdude] #3342758 04/14/14 06:25 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
Dishdude, thanks for the response and the pic. Unfortunately the head unit I have looks nothing like the one in the pic. The unit I have I would guess to be at least 25 years old and the force up/down adjusters are on the sides of the unit. I did not have time to call Chamberlin today to see what they recommended. Hopefully tomorrow.

Many thanks to all the posted and offered their guidance and advice.

Re: Programming a new Craftsman Garage Door Opener [Re: dave180] #3342761 04/14/14 06:28 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
P
PurpleT Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 128
Originally Posted By: dave180
I really wonder if Sear's tech support or lack thereof is just an attempt to have you abandon the remote issue entirely and just buy a brand new opener w/remotes from them.

In the future, if it comes to it, go to HD or Menards and buy a Chamberlain. I recently bought a new replacement remote for my 8-9 year old unit and had it programmed and in the car in about 3 minutes.


Agreed that the lack of tech support is frustrating and it does seem the simpler answer from Sears tech support is to buy a new one instead of fixing the old one. Sign of the times I guess.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™