Recent Topics
Daytona 500..
by Warstud
Today at 01:26 PM
2014 Taurus
by crookedaxle
Today at 12:43 PM
93 GMC 454 TBI w/Castrol Edge Extended Performance
by crookedaxle
Today at 12:38 PM
Brand New 2016 F350 6.7
by RickV
Today at 12:27 PM
HDEO trends
by 4WD
Today at 11:59 AM
Cashiers asking you to donate for ___ charity...
by Mr Nice
Today at 11:54 AM
Oldsmobile 350 Rocket Motor
by Letsrunum
Today at 10:54 AM
Semi-auto AR-style shotguns?
by OVERKILL
Today at 10:49 AM
Dexos license # question.
by pbm
Today at 09:23 AM
Help! P225-use P235?
by Toto
Today at 08:51 AM
Pennzoil "GOLD" synblend 0w20
by car51
Today at 08:22 AM
S10 Lean
by dlundblad
Today at 07:52 AM
OAT anti-freeze?
by otis24
Today at 07:43 AM
Secondary air monitor not ready pass emissions NJ
by raaizin
Today at 07:38 AM
Ransomware
by Donald
Today at 07:19 AM
20W-50 in 18HP Briggs?
by tc1446
Today at 06:36 AM
2016 Nissan Versa Note
by Anduril
Today at 03:55 AM
Acura TB replacement - 105k or 84 months?
by artbuc
Today at 02:56 AM
next pistol idea
by bowlofturtle
Today at 12:01 AM
ACDelco or Fel-Pro ?
by Merkava_4
Yesterday at 11:57 PM
Newest Members
dehudso, elmwoodblues, RickV, MathewC, MADDOC
60653 Registered Users
Who's Online
83 registered (46Harry, alaskanseminole, 901Memphis, A1O, 12 invisible), 2398 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
60653 Members
66 Forums
261594 Topics
4316017 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#3338113 - 04/09/14 07:57 PM Considering getting GPS
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5186
Loc: Canada
I will be renting a car in France this summer, and I can see having a GPS could be very handy.

My car rental broker (Auto Europe) has a deal where I can get a "Free" Garmin Nuvi 270 for the duration of my rental (but I have to pay $40 shipping)

Is the Garmin any good?
I would want to program it by an address and also find 'Home'

I have used GPS before (in rentals) but don't know what brand.

I'm also considering just buying one, but I really have no need here, where I live.
Any advice?

Thanks!

Top
#3338115 - 04/09/14 08:01 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 9525
Loc: Illinois
Buy one and you can use Open Map Project maps.

That's what we did with a Garmin two years ago when we spent 3 weeks in Italy.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338117 - 04/09/14 08:03 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 9525
Loc: Illinois
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338120 - 04/09/14 08:04 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 30395
Loc: ME
^ Yup, I used a precompiled open map of canada on my WM special cheapie Garmin.

The cheap ones (used to) tell you to "turn right here" instead of "Turn right here for Main St". You can get by, of course, but it's weird a programming roadblock to encourage upgrades.

Top
#3338127 - 04/09/14 08:13 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
JHZR2 Offline



Registered: 12/14/02
Posts: 39366
Loc: New Jersey
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.

Top
#3338134 - 04/09/14 08:19 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
kb27 Offline


Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 142
Loc: Singapore
Garmin is probably the best supported brand out there.

We have a community here for making maps for Malaysia, Singapore and even Thailand and above
http://www.malfreemaps.com/index.php

If you'll ever visit our region, the above maps are free.
Even local Garmin here is impressed enough to work with the community.
They understand the power of constant updating of maps that the community provides.

I wouldn't hesitate to get a Garmin.

Top
#3338138 - 04/09/14 08:20 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
sciphi Offline


Registered: 03/24/07
Posts: 9998
Loc: Upstate NY
I like my Garmin Nuvi 255. If the 270 is similar, it should be a decent unit.
_________________________
2013 Toyota RAV4 XLE
2012 Chevrolet Cruze Eco

Top
#3338169 - 04/09/14 08:37 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: JHZR2]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5186
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: JHZR2
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.


Excuse me, I know very little of these things.

You buy a GPS then you buy map cards for any areas that the unit does not already cover?
Are the Map cards updateable? if so, What would it cost?

You talk of batteries, Do they not just plug in to the Cigarette lighter? (Am I showing my age?)

I'm thinking if the Cards are over $40 I might just as well rent the free one.

Top
#3338173 - 04/09/14 08:40 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 33000
Loc: Great Lakes
If you only need it for that one single trip, I think $40 is not a bad deal.

Alternatively, if you have a smartphone, you can purchase the Osmand app for about $8 and then you can download any map you want to your phone's memory (so that you don't need an international data plan). But I think having a dedicated navigation device is more practical.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#3338205 - 04/09/14 09:17 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
901Memphis Online   content


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 11748
Loc: Northern Kentucky
I think most of them are rechargeable and plug into the accessory port to charge. You don't have to keep it plugged in unless it's dead. I think some people choose to keep then plugged in at all times though.
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 125k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - Edge 0w40 + Fram XG3980
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317+MOS+ATP 205

Top
#3338219 - 04/09/14 09:32 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
Donald Online   content


Registered: 03/21/04
Posts: 18045
Loc: Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: expat
I will be renting a car in France this summer, and I can see having a GPS could be very handy.

My car rental broker (Auto Europe) has a deal where I can get a "Free" Garmin Nuvi 270 for the duration of my rental (but I have to pay $40 shipping)

Is the Garmin any good?
I would want to program it by an address and also find 'Home'

I have used GPS before (in rentals) but don't know what brand.

I'm also considering just buying one, but I really have no need here, where I live.
Any advice?

Thanks!



Garmin is a great GPS, around $100 for a decent one at Sams. Many people are just using a smart phone.
_________________________
2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)


Top
#3338229 - 04/09/14 09:55 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5186
Loc: Canada
We don't have a smart phone.

Last year when visiting Denmark, we bought a Map App for the Ipad.
But as it happened, our rental car was equipped with GPS which was a lot easier :-)

Just looking around, there seem to be some real bargains out there (including JHZR2's) I'm just trying to figure out what else (and how much) I need to get, to get a functional GPS working in Europe.

My fall-back would be to get the Free rental (But I pay $40 for shipping) unit.

But it might be nice if I only need pay a little more, and get one I can keep. grin

Top
#3338302 - 04/09/14 11:39 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 9525
Loc: Illinois
Originally Posted By: expat
Originally Posted By: JHZR2
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.


Excuse me, I know very little of these things.

You buy a GPS then you buy map cards for any areas that the unit does not already cover?
Are the Map cards updateable? if so, What would it cost?

You talk of batteries, Do they not just plug in to the Cigarette lighter? (Am I showing my age?)

I'm thinking if the Cards are over $40 I might just as well rent the free one.


You can get the maps free from the link I posted. Just make sure the unit you buy takes SD cards. So the only cost is the cost for a 4 or 8 gb SD card you put in the unit.

Most GPS units will plug into the cigarette lighter.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338723 - 04/10/14 12:07 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5186
Loc: Canada
What GPS's typically use SD cards?
Looking at JHZR2's I see no reference of it taking a card.

If I download a Free map to the card, will the GPS function in the same way as with the manufacturers map?

What kind of area will the downloaded map cover? (I would want the whole of France with details of most cities)

Top
#3338727 - 04/10/14 12:11 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 9525
Loc: Illinois
This is what I have.

Yes, it will use both the maps loaded into the unit from the factory and any maps on the microSD card.

Yes, it functions in the same fashion.

I'm sure there are units with more bells and whistles. But I can update the US maps at Garmin as well as load any OSM maps easily downloaded from the web.

There must be dozens of websites that discuss the OSM Open Mapping project and using those maps with a Garmin.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >