Recent Topics
MSDS: Which Brake cleaner is better of the two?
by tompumped
Today at 12:30 AM
Can Engines Run Quiet With Thin Oil ?
by Merkava_4
Today at 12:18 AM
Engine Running Too Cool ?
by Merkava_4
Yesterday at 11:58 PM
Oil for high mileage Nissan Pathfinder
by AdamZ
Yesterday at 11:09 PM
Doing the parts guys homework.
by Chris142
Yesterday at 09:11 PM
Miisbehaving with a 700hp Lingenfelter CTS-V
by MCompact
Yesterday at 09:00 PM
Discount Tire Direct rebate denied
by lairdwd
Yesterday at 08:10 PM
Who knows about Hex Bit Sockets? What's the best?
by SquirrelMan
Yesterday at 07:54 PM
Sticky for the best times and places for oil deals
by danez_yoda
Yesterday at 07:50 PM
FRAM PH4386 Cut Open- 2.1k on Semi Syn, Mint Cond.
by 5AcresAndAFool
Yesterday at 07:21 PM
55" 4K $398 Walmart
by marine65
Yesterday at 07:12 PM
Aussie "Supercheap" online Deals
by ozdrrider
Yesterday at 06:47 PM
VW is specifying a 504 oil for the V6 Atlas
by skyactiv
Yesterday at 06:32 PM
UOA Yamaha F300 outboards - Yamalube syn 5w30
by claluja
Yesterday at 06:19 PM
Side air bags
by Papa Bear
Yesterday at 06:17 PM
Toyota 90915-YZZG2
by Gebo
Yesterday at 05:49 PM
2017 Subaru 2.5 0w20 oil.
by Russell
Yesterday at 05:49 PM
Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic
by Donald
Yesterday at 05:46 PM
Canadian Tire - Castrol 4.4L and 5L jugs on sale
by OVERKILL
Yesterday at 05:20 PM
SAFETY KLEEN "Eco power" 5w30 VOA
by car51
Yesterday at 04:36 PM
Newest Members
mrpixel, 7734yes, DennisK1956, BJAA1, unioil
62881 Registered Users
Who's Online
20 registered (Atesz792, Astro14, 901Memphis, 4WD, Crispysea, Billbert, 1 invisible), 922 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
62881 Members
66 Forums
271110 Topics
4495869 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3286485 - 02/18/14 05:39 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 21891
Loc: Colorado Springs
I have no idea how so many people get infected with this stuff; up to date browsers today will not, by themselves, allow a drive by download, nor will Windows 7/8 with the UAC settings enabled. It must be from downloads or script/plugin based exploits, but even those are rare if people make sure things like Java/Flash are up to date. In addition, Firefox by default prompts the user to run Java applications.

If you got some kind of adware/spyware, stop and make sure ALL your software/browsers and all plugins are up to date. For instance, Adobe just put out a Flash update a day after putting out another update to fix vulnerabilities, when a new exploit was discovered in the 1st update!

Avast will update that stuff automatically, and there is other stand alone products that will automatically update Flash/Java etc., since their built in updaters are useless.


Edited by Drew99GT (02/18/14 05:41 PM)

Top
#3286549 - 02/18/14 06:57 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Oldmoparguy1 Offline


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 5473
Loc: Charlotte, NC
Great info! Trying to think what I might have done to get infected. Sat. I updated Avast, earlier I had done several dogpile searches. All our equipment is behind a router.. It's been several years since I had an actual infection. Dunno..

Anyway, thanks

Wayne
_________________________
Weakness of attitude becomes weakness of character...
Albert Einstein

Top
#3286722 - 02/18/14 09:02 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 11904
Loc: NE,Ohio
eset often finds stuff mwb doesnt.

start in safe mode w/networking

http://www.eset.com/int/home/products/online-scanner/
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#3286847 - 02/19/14 12:11 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
skulldrinker Offline


Registered: 12/14/11
Posts: 44
Loc: Bolingbrook, IL
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1

--cut--
I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.
--cut--


In FF you might have acquired some unwanted "Add-Ons". Got to Tools>Add-ons and disable or remove unwanted adware, search engines, and tool bars that get passed by with anti-virus/malware scans.


Edited by skulldrinker (02/19/14 12:12 AM)

Top
#3286946 - 02/19/14 07:44 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 8172
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
Originally Posted By: Oldmoparguy1


I fired up firefox on my desktop the other day and was seeing real estate adds jumping around on the screen. I haven't used FF in several weeks, so have no idea where it came from. Avast claimed it blocked something.

I used to run something called Adaware some years ago. I DL'ed a fresh copy but it turned out to be an anti-virus thing. Not what I wanted.

TLA
Wayne


Inside Firefox Add-Ons is a wonderful tool called Adblock Plus. Load it.
Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.

Top
#3287109 - 02/19/14 11:09 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Triple_Se7en]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 21891
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: Triple_Se7en

Also get a real antivirus program. The free ones help with antivirus, but not adware, spyware and malware.

Arm your computer properly and this problem will cease.


You keep saying this non sense; the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Top
#3287135 - 02/19/14 11:28 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 11100
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
#3287187 - 02/19/14 12:10 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 34132
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
the free antivirus products have THE EXACT SAME ANTIVIRUS/ANTIMALWARE/ANTISPYWARE/ANTIADWARE engines as the paid versions. They usually don't include the firewalls anbd some of the other premium features, of which, there are free solutions that surpass the paid products.

Yup. At least that's the case with AVG Free that I'm using on some of my PCs...

http://free.avg.com/us-en/free-downloads#compare


_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#3287189 - 02/19/14 12:12 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 34132
Loc: Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,

Not true, based on my experience.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#3287234 - 02/19/14 01:05 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: daman]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 21891
Loc: Colorado Springs
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

Top
#3338661 - 04/10/14 11:04 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
Oldmoparguy1 Offline


Registered: 01/21/05
Posts: 5473
Loc: Charlotte, NC
A followup,
I had drive by infections in firefox on 2 systems. Malwarebytes cured both. The desktop was running Avast and the laptop was running AVG. Neither caught the adwhare. Both systems have Opera, which is my default browser. Neither was infected.

Wayne
_________________________
Weakness of attitude becomes weakness of character...
Albert Einstein

Top
#3338686 - 04/10/14 11:41 AM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Oldmoparguy1]
Drew99GT Offline


Registered: 10/11/02
Posts: 21891
Loc: Colorado Springs
How do you know it was a driveby? The only place you can get drivebys on up to date browsers is through vulnerabilities in plugins, usually served up through ad networks with Java and Flash. Those are incredibly rare. You'd have to go to the darkest corners of the internet to find a web page serving up exploits designed to attack a web browser. It's not like several years back when that kind of stuff was incredibly prevalent; browsers are coded to stop that stuff.

Yet another reason to run https://www.malwarebytes.org/antiexploit/


Edited by Drew99GT (04/10/14 11:42 AM)

Top
#3338791 - 04/10/14 01:06 PM Re: I need an adware remover. [Re: Drew99GT]
daman Offline


Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 11100
Loc: Bad Axe, MI
Originally Posted By: Drew99GT
Originally Posted By: daman
And usually no auto update,scans or real time protection,but on demand scans yes picks up the same nasties.


Actually, the free antivirus products widely used, Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda, etc. all have real time protection, to include web filtering. In fact, I don't know of any free antivirus product that does not include those features. They all also include scheduled scanning, auto updates etc.

I should have clarified, I was talking about malware/spyware stand alone programs, etc, yes most free AV does have auto features.
_________________________
"Always"....Mobil 1

Current fill: AFE 0w30

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2