battery date codes

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a super start battery with a date code of
03522eae 1487
how old is it?

if it says A1 I would believe it is Jan 2011 when it was made unless it has been around another ten years. This type date code has been used forever.

It's not an interstate I looked up Johnson controls stuff on google but couldn't find it after about ten minutes I figured screw it I'll ask on here. For some reason I'm not good at searching stuff I even searched on bitog and couldn't find anything.

Most newer batteries have a full date on them. I never quite got the date code thing. It was easy enough to figure out, but it didn't make sense that they couldn't just print the actual date.

I just bought a Super Start from OReillys and it had a date code sticker showing L13. I expect that was Nov or Dec 2013 as some brands skip the letter I.
The shocker was the $165 price before tax, more than twice the price for the same 94R battery purchased 3.5 years ago.

The Die Hard Platinum (EnerSys Odessey) I just bought has the FULL date written out (at least the month and year, i.e.; October 2013) on a sticker right on the top side.

I've never seen one with other than a code date, just picked up a Exide last month that has J13 on it...

When I bought the '98 Grand Marquis in Apr of '10 it had a OLD looking Motorcraft with B8 on it... Yep orig battery that was 12 years old...

Originally Posted By: dailydriver
The Die Hard Platinum (EnerSys Odessey) I just bought has the FULL date written out (at least the month and year, i.e.; October 2013) on a sticker right on the top side.

How are you liking the battery? I went all out and bought a 34/78 for my chevy truck and the specs are impressive. I'm phasing out "6 packs" for something better. I used a CCA battery tester on mines and it tested 1400 CCA @ 13.10V warm climate.

My opinion is that Odyssey makes an awesome battery.