Recent Topics
Cutting steel stock
by JHZR2
Yesterday at 11:13 PM
Spirex S4 TXM in an Infiniti automatic.
by Mattd32208
Yesterday at 11:00 PM
New puppy...potty training
by gregk24
Yesterday at 10:15 PM
Bought a set of Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3
by Colt45ws
Yesterday at 10:13 PM
hour meter clicking shortly after shutdown?
by motor_oil_madman
Yesterday at 10:11 PM
Mobil Signum Oil Analysis
by DeepFriar
Yesterday at 09:37 PM
Corrosion Test
by buck91
Yesterday at 09:34 PM
Pine tree sap
by Donald
Yesterday at 09:02 PM
Purolator PL14459 2011 vintage 5668mi 97 Maxima
by zorobabel
Yesterday at 08:43 PM
Castrol Edge 5w-30
by TheOilWizard
Yesterday at 08:38 PM
Help setting up Laptops for my teen Daughters
by BobsArmory
Yesterday at 08:34 PM
Rural King full synthetic (Atwoods)
by TheOilWizard
Yesterday at 08:29 PM
Valvoline 5w40 Premium Blue Extreme
by spiderbypass
Yesterday at 08:18 PM
Purpose of tube where oil filter mounts
by Exit32
Yesterday at 08:13 PM
What do you think about this scar?
by krzyss
Yesterday at 08:06 PM
BITOG knowledge gnosis
by Pajero
Yesterday at 08:03 PM
Is the 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt any good ?
by sirgerman
Yesterday at 07:57 PM
'07 Z4 3.0 SI- 9k, 23 months Cam 2 Blue Blood 5w40
by montero1
Yesterday at 07:07 PM
Cost effective 0w20 in single quarts
by JoelB
Yesterday at 07:03 PM
Ants?
by JHZR2
Yesterday at 06:18 PM
Newest Members
Wolfie, JR96, apollo18, CarsSimplified, Garretts77
62925 Registered Users
Who's Online
29 registered (Char Baby, bbhero, bandz7, d00df00d, Blue_Goose, 2 invisible), 940 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
62925 Members
66 Forums
271337 Topics
4500468 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3165849 - 10/24/13 07:12 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Miller88 Offline


Registered: 04/09/08
Posts: 12195
Loc: Onondaga County
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!


If little is good, more is better. :P
_________________________
I don't have nice things for a reason

Top
#3166184 - 10/24/13 12:10 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Phishin Offline


Registered: 05/01/12
Posts: 2278
Loc: Indiana
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
PHISHIN---so I read all 9 of your pages and looked at the pics, what do you think your final answer would be regarding the use of restore? as far as using it ($) every oil change it doesn't bother me much, if I cut down on oil consumption the cost balances out.do you think I should change the filter after 500 or so? also do you think that the combination and the volume of several additives could have caused all the goo in your filters? maybe the particulates were from normal engine breakdown (yours obviously had some!)that was stuck in the sludge of the engine you said was there? not doubting your findings by any means just trying a different p.o.v. thanks in advance
main question would you use it again?


Yes, I would use again. In fact, RESTORE is in the oil right now.

I thinking changing the oil filter after 500 miles isn't a bad idea. Is it needed? I don't think so. Heck, why don't you add RESTORE, and run it from 500 or go 3000 miles, and replace the filter? Cut your old one open and show us the results. Just don't cut the filter open with a Dremel like I did. It can contaminate your results.

This spring, I'll send my oil filter to someone on here with a filter cutter and post pics with another run of RESTORE.

Yes, I'd run RESTORE again. Yes, it's in my truck now. For me, since I burn a quart of oil every 500-1000 miles, and since I won't go over 3k miles with any filter, I don't change the oil. I just keep adding.

Originally Posted By: Miller88


If little is good, more is better. :P


When I started my "RESTORE experiment", I added two cans of the 6-cylinder cans. Since then, I've topped my truck off with 9-10 quarts of oil, and I added another 6-cylinder can. I've changed out the filter twice.


Edited by Phishin (10/24/13 12:11 PM)
_________________________
2010 Accord-LX K24: PU 5w30
2014 CR-V LX K24: TBD
1990 Chevy K1500 350TBI: Frankenbrew
2008 Ruckus 50ccGET: M1R Mix

Top
#3166236 - 10/24/13 01:12 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Phishin]
Richtrashman Offline


Registered: 10/21/13
Posts: 81
Loc: Southern Ohio
Phishin--- thanks for the reply! Will keep an eye on the pressure gauge and will post pics of the filter when I change and cut it. May take a bit, only put maybe 800 miles a month on it, anxious to see results or not! Will keep ya all posted
_________________________
2010 Optima 117k+ M1 5w20 wix, ML ATF
2005 Xterra 108k+ 5w30 castrol Edge wix, castrol HM atf
In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King


Top
#3179104 - 11/05/13 11:16 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
strat81 Offline


Registered: 01/09/10
Posts: 809
Loc: Nebraska
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.
_________________________
Molon Labe

Top
#3179121 - 11/05/13 11:36 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: strat81]
racin4ds Offline


Registered: 05/07/10
Posts: 728
Loc: Winchester, VA
Originally Posted By: strat81
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.


Ummm no. there isn't a sensor on a vehicle that could pick up the fact that this stuff is in the oil and throw a CEL. Its [censored] like this that spreads internet rumors!
_________________________
Just say NO to thin oils!
05 F350 Powerstroke
03 CRV
08 Legacy GT

Top
#3179496 - 11/05/13 05:14 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: racin4ds]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2239
Loc: Staten Island, NY
Originally Posted By: racin4ds
Originally Posted By: strat81
A member on GMTNation used it in her Trailblazer with the 4.2L inline 6. The engine did not like it, threw all kinds of codes, etc.


Ummm no. there isn't a sensor on a vehicle that could pick up the fact that this stuff is in the oil and throw a CEL. Its [censored] like this that spreads internet rumors!


While I agree in this circumstance, What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
#3180713 - 11/06/13 08:34 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: michaelluscher]
Phishin Offline


Registered: 05/01/12
Posts: 2278
Loc: Indiana
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.
_________________________
2010 Accord-LX K24: PU 5w30
2014 CR-V LX K24: TBD
1990 Chevy K1500 350TBI: Frankenbrew
2008 Ruckus 50ccGET: M1R Mix

Top
#3180736 - 11/06/13 08:57 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Phishin]
demarpaint Offline


Registered: 07/03/05
Posts: 28143
Loc: NY
Originally Posted By: Phishin
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.


Well said.
_________________________
God Bless Our Troops


Top
#3180834 - 11/06/13 10:36 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: demarpaint]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2239
Loc: Staten Island, NY
Originally Posted By: demarpaint
Originally Posted By: Phishin
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
What about an engine WITH! Some sort of sensor that could be put off by something in the oil? VVT/VTEC/MDS/AFM/VCM/MIVEC-MD..... etc


I don't think I'd use Restore in any high-tech engine with a potentially corruptible sensor unless I didn't care if something did go haywire.

I've read some things online (I think Amazon reviews) where people claimed cam shaft sensors and possibly VVT was affected immediately after adding Restore. I can see that happening. I mean, you're pouring in heavy dose of soft, conductive metals into your oil....things could happen.

I think Restore is best used for old-school, low tech engines. If your engine has a distributor cap, you're probably fine. If your engine utilizes variable valve timing or even has a cam sensor, you might want to think twice about pouring Restore into your crankcase.


Well said.


I agree...
Clapped out 305 or 351, It's a last ditch effort hide
3MZ-FE or VQ... Just.... Just no crush
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 82k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 52k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 58k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 193k

Top
#3194478 - 11/22/13 05:57 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Richtrashman Offline


Registered: 10/21/13
Posts: 81
Loc: Southern Ohio
Well, it has been almost a month exactly, about 770 miles since I added the RESTORE. I have to admit it did nothing to reduce the oil consumption. I didn't really expect much on that end due to valve seals, not necessarily scratched up cylinder walls.I would like to think I feel a little more power but it could be placebo effect. I did take the advice to change the filter at around 400 miles, because I was hearing some chatter like it was starving for lube, and the oil pressure had dropped maybe 5 psi. Put on new filter, problem solved, which leads me to a new question. These SBC engines are supposed to have a built in bypass in the block correct? Can (does) this malfunction?
_________________________
2010 Optima 117k+ M1 5w20 wix, ML ATF
2005 Xterra 108k+ 5w30 castrol Edge wix, castrol HM atf
In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King


Top
#3215397 - 12/13/13 10:32 AM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Bgallagher Offline


Registered: 04/17/12
Posts: 3032
Loc: Boston, MA
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!




lol
_________________________
2017 Chevy Traverse - 25k - Delco Dexos 1 and PF63
2014 Chevy Equinox - 22k - Delco Dexos 1 and PF457G
2015 GMC Terrain - 20k- Delco Dexos 1 and PF457G

Top
#3216683 - 12/14/13 05:36 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
Errtt Offline


Registered: 11/14/10
Posts: 2701
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: Richtrashman
Originally Posted By: Miller88
If you have a 5 cyl mix the 4 and 6 cylinder formula!


that would be for a V10!


Yes use all for a 10, but you can use half for a 5

Top
#3223098 - 12/20/13 07:59 PM Re: Put RESTORE in the old Chevy [Re: Richtrashman]
CourierDriver Offline


Registered: 12/27/09
Posts: 4482
Loc: Tn.
The engine is 23years old,,either rebuild it or put in a crate engine for about 3300 bucks and ride on,,,imho Its mechanical, they dont last forever.
_________________________
The world needs directional signal training, pass it on..up for a right turn, down for left turn.
can't please everyone, so you got to please yourself

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2