Best Equivalent for Fram PH8A

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm about to change the oil in a big boat (1986 Tiara 3600) that has twin 454 Crusader engines of the same vintage. For some reason, these GM engines receive Ford remote oil filter housings. The current filters on the engines are Fram PH8A.

What would you guys recommend? I see M1-301's are an equivalent. I see Napa Gold's are 1515....do they have a Platinum filter that would fit these engines? I'm not seeing it when I search.

The only Purolator I see listed is L30001. Do they make a P1 filter that would fit the bill? Or a Purolator Synthetic?

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm a noob when it comes to finding filters, especially for something off-the-wall like a marine engine.

The PureOne for this application would be a PL30001.

A Wix Platinum (which should be the same as a NAPA Platinum) would be a 51515XP. A NAPA Platinum would be a 41515.

For NAPA Platinum series, take the Gold number and add a 4 to the front. For PureOne, the prefix is PL instead of L. Puro Synth. are PSL.

PureOne - PL30001:
http://www.amazon.com/Purolator-PL30001-...eywords=pl30001

Puro. Synthetic - PSL30001:
http://www.amazon.com/Purolator-PSL30001-Synthetic-Spin-On-Filter/dp/B007BXCO0I

WIX Platinum - 51515XP:
http://www.amazon.com/WIX-51515XP-XP-Oil...eywords=51515xp

NAPA Platinum - 41515:
http://www.napaonline.com/Catalog/Catalo...1515_0327158273

Last edited:
Bang for the buck? Motorcraft FL-1A.

A little nicer? Napa Gold 51515, or Fram TG TG8A. Pure One PL30001.

Top tier Platinum or Fram Ultra.

Napa guy said this morning that Golds are going on sale tomorrow for 3 bucks and change! Beat that!

Originally Posted By: KCJeep
Napa guy said this morning that Golds are going on sale tomorrow for 3 bucks and change! Beat that!

Do you know if this is just for your store? If this is at my store too, I'll have to grab a bunch.

Originally Posted By: redhat