First transfer case & differential

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 04 Mountaineer premier V8 AWD with about 110k on it and I would like to change the fluid in both the transfer case and differential. I have never done this before and was wondering if you guys had any recommendations on fluids.

I was thinking of going with Amsoil 75w90 Severe Gear or Long Life Synthetic Gear Lube & Slip Lock Gear Oil Additive for the rear diff but am not sure if I can find it locally or not. for the front I am really not sure what ATF to go with. Or should I just use the same stuff I put in the rear?

According to the owner's manual which can be found here. The rear differential uses Motorcraft SAE 75W-90 Fuel Efficient High Performance Synthetic Rear Axle Lubricant and the transfer case uses Motorcraft MERCON ATF. The front differential uses Motorcraft SAE 80W-90 Premium Rear Axle Lubricant.

I would contact Pablo and probably go with the Amsoil 75W-90 Synthetic Long Life Gear Lube in both axles (unless he had another recommendation). I would stick with Ford Mercon ATF in the transfer case (it has served you well for 110K thus far and I use Ford brand in my FX4 transfer case and has given me good UOAs both times).

Originally Posted By: MolaKule
Rear diffy requires a 75W140.

Front diffy requires a 75W90.

For both diffy's, I would use a 75W110 such as LE's http://www.le-international.com/uploads/documents/1605.pdf

Transfer case requires an ATF. Recommend TorqueDrive or Transynd.

As 2010_FX4 said my manual calls for front 80w90 rear 75w90 and I was just going to go with 75w90 for both.

Last edited:
There must have been a mid-year change on the specs.

Pablo can probably fix you up with what you need so send a PM to him.