New Windows to be like the old Windows.

Status
Not open for further replies.
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/05/07/windows_8_u_turn/

Quote:

Leaked builds of Windows Blue in recent weeks suggest a loosening of the Metro straitjacket. These builds indicate that Windows Blue will introduce the ability for users to boot straight to desktop mode and to bypass the Metro-Style Start menu. Microsoft is also considering bringing back the abandoned Start button

Wow, what a boatload of unhappy people will do to a company.

Last edited:
I might consider a computer with the new OS if this is true. The Metro interface was purely the reason why I returned my laptop to Costco 2 days after buying it. I do not tolerate the "you will get used to it" answer for 8. I have been using a Start button since 1995, and I loathe change.

Darn. And I was just getting use to this Windows8. I don't use the "tile screen", just work from the good old desktop. 'Bout the only time that I go to the "tile screen" is to bring up solitaire.

Gotta love an industry that within a couple years claims their old product was junk and you need to upgrade at ridiculous prices for fear of the older product not being supported any longer.Oh wait a minute,the auto industry and the oil industry do the same thing....as well as video game console makers...and...

About a month ago, my brother and I purchased a new HP for my father; HP still is selling W7 "for a limited time"

I use it @ work, so I'm not interested in a W8 machine and a lot of questions for which I have no answers.

As I indicated in previous posts, paid corporate customers drive a lot of the design and lifecycle of the MS desktop OS. No way any corporation would have stood for that Fisher Price UI, because no one could stand the 2 months where nothing got done while people tried to figure out what to do.

Last edited: