0W-20 in Winter and 5W-20 in Summer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Guys,

I was wondering is it OK for me to use 0W-20 for winter about 3 Month and 5W-20 for the rest of the year?

I drive a 07 Honda Accord 2.4L with 80,000+ miles on it, I’m an easy driver, majorly drive in city.
Here in the mid-west winter can be really cold, typically below and around 32 degree. But in the summer it will even go above 100 degree sometimes.

So,
Is it good for my car to switch around between 0W-20 and 5W-20? Or I should keep using 5W-20?

Is it necessary to use those “High mileage/Extended Performance” oils?
My local shops always tell me to use their “High mileage” version of their 5W-20.

Thank you guys very much!

Welcome to BITOG!

You can use a 0W-20 year round in your '07 Civic.
Your car is not "high mileage" and therefore you need not use use the heavier HM oils.
The lightest 0W-20's are the Japanese OEM oils.
The two lightest are Mazda 0W-20 and Toyota 0W-20.

You can use 0W-20 all year around, but if you are going to change it out before winter, and it is lower cost, then the 5W-20 would be a good summer oil.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: JoshV5
I was wondering is it OK for me to use 0W-20 for winter about 3 Month and 5W-20 for the rest of the year?

The only concern I'd have is how many miles you're putting on in those three months. If it's not a lot, and you do choose to use a synthetic 0w-20, the oil may have a lot of life left in it when you choose to return to 5w-20 for the rest of the year. You could go the route of 0w-20 year round. However, what you do suggest would certainly work.

Hi, Guys,

I drive a 07 Honda Accord 2.4L with 80,000+ miles on it, I’m an easy driver, majorly drive in city.
Here in the mid-west winter can be really cold, typically below and around 32 degree. But in the summer it will even go above 100 degree sometimes.

So,
Is it good for my car to switch around between 0W-20 and 5W-20? Or I should keep using 5W-20?