High mileage oil recommendation for 02 Suburban

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been skulking around the boards for a few months now and have really enjoyed what I have learned. Now I need to ask a question of my own.

I am getting ready for an oil change on my 2002 Chevy Suburban 5.3 Vortec and need some oil selection advice. I bought it with 117,000 miles a few months ago and did an oil change with 5w30 Castrol GTX High Mileage shortly thereafter. I just passed 120,000, will be making a 700+ mile trip in a few weeks, and will need a change shortly after getting back. There is a bit of a leak at the rear main seal (one drop on the driveway every few days - have only added 1/2 quart in 3,000 miles) and I would like to avoid the $800 bill to replace it. I have read good things on this forum about Valvoline MaxLife taking care of such issues after two OCIs. Does that also apply to NextGen MaxLife? There are some good prices and mail-in-rebates for the 5+ quart jugs in my area, making the NextGen cheaper than the store brand dino. Should I stick with the Castrol GTX for a few more OCI to see if that straightens things up? Go with MaxLife? MaxLife NextGen? Another brand?

The car is mostly driven within a 25 mile radius of home, but gets a good 30-45 minute highway trip (some stop and go, some 65 MPH) every week or two. I would like to maximize my gas mileage, but bought the truck knowing it is not a fuel sipper. I added a cat-back exhaust on it last weekend and plan on adding a set of headers in a few months, but probably won't be making any other mods (maybe an Airaid Jr. kit - you never know what the wife will agree to) for a while.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

I have the '03 5.3L with well over 180k I bought new and so far, no need for that.

MaxLife, Pennzoil or Mobil 1 High Mileage, all will work well tohelp keep the small leak in check.