Synthetic Oil Extended OCI's are Foolish

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did not read the whole artical, but I think for some engines extended drains are not a good idea. I'm no expert, but if folks are going to run extended drains they need to check the dipstick to make sure the oil level is good. Some folks don't do this. Next make sure you are not loosing coolant. Alsot of folks fail to do this also.Last, I think some engines have alot of fuel going into the oil like DI engines. I think extened oci can work, but not for all.

Originally Posted By: Oldwolf
Is this car expert saying extended OCI's (10k miles) with synthetic oil is foolish? I think he might be...what do you think?

http://www.schleeter.com/oil-sludge.htm

This "expert" is definitely trying to generate profits for his business- a 3,000 mile OCI using synthetic is simply a waste of money and resources in most every situation. My UOAs show that M1 5W-30 is good for a minimum of 7500 miles in my Mazdaspeed 3.

My UOAs have proven that a 6K OCI is the limit and best OCI on full synthetic. I'd be spending 2X as much at 3K OCI.

At 40k, I've been doing 10k intervals with 0w-20 for the last 20,000 miles.

I will say though, that subjectively, my engine is a bit noisier now than it was new.

Originally Posted By: Oldwolf
Is this car expert saying extended OCI's (10k miles) with synthetic oil is foolish? I think he might be...what do you think?

http://www.schleeter.com/oil-sludge.htm

Many of the cars on his list (Audi, Volvo, SAAB, VW) developed sludge due to manufacturer/dealer not using the correct oil. Often times, bulk mineral oil was used while following extended OCIs.

And the infamous BMW oil sludge picture that's on his page - I don't think anyone has actually been able to confirm the true circumstances surrounding it, ie. what oil was used and for how long.