Rotella T6 5W-40

Status
Not open for further replies.
Somebody please explain to me why I can't just run this oil in my '95 BMW 740IL, M60 gas motor. I see it's good for diesel and gas rigs. I have ran Rotella T 5W-40 since my 02'Ford Excursion, 7.3L, and '03 Ford F-350, 6.0L Powerstroke were brand new. Always have been curious if I could run it in BMW. On the bimmerforums, there are guys running it, but it seems to have sprang much contervery. Help please!

I have zero experience with BMWs other than an oil change or two.

However, I would say to run it for once OCI and get a UOA done afterwards and that will speak for itself. I am reasonably sure that the oil wouldn't do anything negative to your engine. There is one person on here that runs 0w-20 (or 5w-20) in a Mercedes spec'd for Xw-40 oil and his engine actually performs better if my memory serves me correctly.

Originally Posted By: mcallister
Somebody please explain to me why I can't just run this oil in my '95 BMW 740IL, M60 gas motor.

If it meets the BMW service ratings (for '95) and recommended vis range, I don't see why you couldn't run RTS in it.

If you're uberanal about it, run a UOA on the first run to assure yourself it's OK.

You'll hear no hate of RTS (and straight-weight Rotella) from me. I've run Rotella for many years (long before joining BITOG) in everything from lawnmowers to big marine engines. I have nothing but praise for it.

You can absolutely run RT6 in your beamer. It is out of warranty and I think some people hate on it because it is not expensive, I think that is really one of the big reasons. I would run it with confidence.

+1 I would run T6 if I was in your shoes.