2000 Subaru Outback oil/filter reccomendation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everybody, new to the forum, and came here after an online referral. I have a 2000 Subaru Outback with 165000 miles on it. I bought it used at 158000. I have been following routine maintenance so far, and got some initial tune up stuff completed when I bought the car. I commute about 45 miles each way from Redding, CA to Weaverville, CA. I drive on a combination of back country roads, four lane highway, and windy mountain passes reaching elevations of over 3,000 feet and back down to sea-level again. Not too much stop and go, however. I am a fairly aggressive driver, but tend to stick to the speed limit or right above it. I have 5W-30 right now, but noticed some consumption when I went to check the dipstick. Maybe i brushed it against the tube, but I checked it three times, and it wasn't even registering, and then after adding a quart and a half and letting it run, it was over the full line and up the stick a ways so it went from one extreme to the other. There are no observed leaks, and the car sounds and appears to be running normally. Any idea what could be causing the consumption problem (if there is one) and any recommendations for oil for my car? I was planning on changing every 7000 miles but due to my daily drive I will probably be changing it on the harsh schedule (every 3750) alternating doing it myself and having it done in a shop so better trained eyes are at least looking for stuff I don't have the experience to notice. i was also planning on using PureONE filters unless anyone thinks it's unnecessary. Thanks for your insight.