Amsoil and Redline

Status
Not open for further replies.
The proof is to look at how the test is configured and compare it to the type of lube situation you see in the valvetrain. For example, the type of wear you see between a cam lobe and valve lifter is sliding contact under very high pressures in the 30ksi to 50ksi range. This is exactly what the Four Ball test is supposed to analog. The four ball test has no relevance to bearing wear since that's a full flow situation.

I've been a rocket propulsion engineer for the USAF and NASA for over twenty years and my educational background (MSME, Georgia Tech, 1981) is in materials science. In fact, I taught the subject as a GTA at Georgia Tech. With all due respect, I do believe I'm qualified to evaluate the veracity of a simple lab test. I've spent hours thinking about this test and I believe my conclusions are perfectly valid.

Tooslick

quote:

I've been a rocket propulsion engineer for the USAF and NASA for over twenty years and my educational background (MSME, Georgia Tech, 1981) is in materials science. In fact, I taught the subject as a GTA at Georgia Tech. With all due respect, I do believe I'm qualified to evaluate the veracity of a simple lab test. I've spent hours thinking about this test and I believe my conclusions are perfectly valid.

Ok, great, but why are Redline, Neo, Mobil etc. stating it has no relevance? And why doen't UOA's reflect this? And please to say Mobil 1's valvetrain wear is higher because I've gone back through the UOA's and I see no evidence of this at all.

Mike,

Please email me off line with your phone # and I'll give you a call. I'd be glad to explain how the four ball test works in detail and why I believe it is relevant ....

thanks,

Ted