Need help with Honda A/C please

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is about my girlfriend's (soon to be wife next month) 2003 Honda Accord EX, 2-door Coupe, 121,000 miles on it, automatic transmission, 4 cylinder 2.4 liter V-tec engine.

Last time she drove the car was this past Friday, she says the AC was working fine. The car sat in the garage all weekend, we drove my truck on Saturday and Sunday. Today she came home from work and said the AC had made a hissing noise and was not cold at all going to work or coming back home. I checked it out but I have little knowledge of AC systems. The AC compressor is not cycling. Both AC lines are warm to the touch. The compressor itself is very hot to the touch. The fan controls and vent/dash/defrost selectors all work OK, but the AC is not cooling.

I can not find any visible or physial evidence of any freon leaks. I can't see any evidence of leaks from the compressor either, but it is located way down on the bottom of the engine, hard to see anything under it. I think it might need a new compressor but I can't see how the compressor would just up and fail like that without any prior warning symptoms. I have no gauges for testing the AC system.

I am trying to Google search for info on this, but I would appreciate any help from Honda and/or AC guys here...Thanks.

tough call: 3 days ago it was working and now it wasn't?

2 possibilities observed: (a ) a ruptured condenser or receiver due to rock/stone on the road; or (b ) there's not enough refrigerant in the system (pass the lower pressure cutoff point) and for that the compressor simply refused to work.