Amsoil AME 15w40, 12k miles, 04 Duramax LLY

Status
Not open for further replies.
The 9k and 12k miles are on the same fill of Amsoil AME. The previous 6k and 8k miles were with Valvoline Premium Blue Extreme.

I'm very puzzled by Blackstone's comments, and was wondering if I missing something. My Iron level is at 11ppm @ 12k miles, universal average for this engine is 13ppm @ 6.6k miles. The iron comment was the first thing that didn't seem right. Then looking at all my wear levels which are well below universal averages, good viscosity, low insolubles, low fuel, and high TBN...why only 2k more miles on this fill? I emailed them back asking the same questions, I'm still fairly new to UOA's so perhaps I'm just missing something here...

When I took the 12k sample, I did notice the engine was right at 1 quart low on oil. That was added after the sample was taken, and I did add that to the comments section for Blackstone. Maybe that is where the concern was?

Duramax.JPG

Yeah, I dont see what the problem is either. You are running right around 1ppm per 1k. I say at least another 10k. It looks perfect. Couldnt ask for a better report, IMO.

Hmm, the comments here seem very out of line from what the actual report is telling us...

But in regards to the report, it's looking quite good!! Seems you have a fine engine here. Oil seemed to do very well, and seems to be capable of much more.

The UOA looks great. How many QT sump?

Are people reading this UOA correctly?? The OCI was 12K and B/S said to go another 2K. Nothing wrong with that suggestion given the wear metals and TBN.

I got a bit more clarification from Blackstone this morning.

1) The iron high comments were specific to my engine, as the 11ppm is the highest levels it has seen. Not a concern, and they certainly agreed it's nothing to worry about being below universal averages at double the mileage. Wasn't meant to concern, just acknowledge. I think they could have worded the comments a bit better.