Do 2 strokers always smoke?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi motorcycle people! This is my first post in this section so pardon me if my question is overly basic.

I'm planning to drive a Trabant occasionally. A DDR car with ~650ccm two stroke engine that makes 26ps @ 4200 rpm. Drivable around 2000-3000 rpms, 5000 being max. Compression ratio is 7.8:1 if matters. It requires two stroke oil in 50:1 ratio.

I have no experience with two-strokers. I can tackle being an oddity in the neigbourhood but I just don't want to disturb people. If I properly mix oil with proper 50:1 ratio do I still make visible blue smoke? Are those blue smoke throwers are misused engines or thats an unavoidable condition in 2 cycle world.

I need your expertise here. May be I can save one Trabant from going thrash. Any input appreciated.

BTW, this is what it looks like.
trabantv.jpg

In my experience, 2 stroke engines seem to smoke a little when under heavy load, but it's no more smoke than a 4 stroke engine that's burning a little oil.

with my old dirtbike i run a pretty heavy 25-1 mix in it so it smokes when its cold and when you drive really hard. It seems to smoke more when you run it at low rpm's with alot of throttle. My 2-stroke lawn equipment does not smoke much at all and they are mixed at 40-50 to 1. I do have an old leaf blower that is ran on a strong 40-1 mix and it does smoke a little. I heard that if you use bio diesel at 25-1 instead of 50-1 with the gas you will get no smoke and it lubricates better than 2-stroke oil. I am going to try it with the old leaf blower one day. Sweet car by the way I would drive it for sure. 2-strokes are very easy to make power. imagine some expansion chamber pipes and a bigger carb and that thing would fly.

I also seem to find that if you dont rev the engine up and always bog it they will create alot of carbon which can mess with things.

Last edited: