Struts, complete assembly or bare strut?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Although I mad my living at one time as a front end guy at a Goodyear store. it has been years since I left that line of work. My 2000 Focus needs struts. Researching the usual sites like Rock Auto etc. I see that complete assemblies, strut, spring and upper bearing, seem to be the way to go. Makes replacing them myself in the realm off possibility. Looking at a cost of the assembly versus labor to remove the old strut, swap springs upper bearing etc., seems to be a push. And with the assembly you get new springs, bearing and rubber parts Anyone have experience with this? What brands of strut do you favor and why?

ultimately, the question is, how capable are you RE: doing the strut work yourself? If you cannot do it (compressing the springs, etc.) then get the complete assembly and slap them on.

I have no experience with Monroe quickstruts; although my pool of friends (the ones that I don't service their vehicles) have decent outcome with monroe quickstruts so I wouldn't doubt how decent they are.

Myself: I'm a complete teardown/compress spring and replace the strut type of deal, and I would either go with Monroe (bare minimum, Sensatrac) or most OE equivalent such as Sach-borge (sp?) for some European cars; KYB, Showa or Tokicos for Jpn vehicles.

Always lubricate (repack) or buy new replacement strut top plate bearings.

Q.

I used the monroe quick struts....still working well after a year. It does a better job than OEM in my cavalier anyways.

With harsh winters and rust issues here, quick struts made more sense.

I just installed monroe quick struts on my 03 bonneville. Easy to do, cheap, much improved ride.

I have strut compressor and have done many, but when you add up the parts, its a wash, or even cheaper to use the quick struts. They even had the fasteners in the correct location for the brake hose and abs wires. Amazon was cheapest.