Victory Vision and 5w 40 rotella

Status
Not open for further replies.
What does the manufacturer recommend? Is this a shared sump design with the engine and trans lube oil together or separate? Is this a wet clutch design as well?

bmwtechguy,
The recommended oil is Victory semi syn.15w40 oil or jaso-ma oil.
The 106 vic is a shared oil design wet clutch and air cooled v twin.

It is going to shear slightly, probably. I would run Rotella 15w40 during the warmer months and thee 5w40 during the cooler months. You weather is surely similar to mine.

Thanks for the reply,are you talking about shear that could cause wear on my motor or my gears?

I am by no means an expert nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

I would run it for 2,000 miles and send a sample to be analyzed and see what the shared sump has done to viscosity. If/when it shears, it will be a 30wt. There are plenty of Rotella 5w40 UOA posts in the motorcycle UOA section showing that it sheared down a bit but still was protecting the engine. You will not know what is going on without an analysis to show you.

Another possibility is that you will not like the way it runs/shifts with the 5w40 in there.

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2212753#Post2212753

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2105686#Post2105686

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1738135&page=1

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1524168&page=1

With the 5w-40 oil the motor runs out better. The shifting is a little more harsh. The mileage is going up some with the clutch action being more of a solid clutch. The main thing I care about is protection of the motor and trans.