Mobil 1 5w30 EP that much better than Mobil 1 5w30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: tig1
Originally Posted By: teddyboy
Either oil is outstanding for 10K OCIs in most engines.

Tig, I will soon need your encouragement. Wife's Camry is out of warranty and I will change from Toyota 0W20 syn to M1 next change. My plan is to adopt a 10K oci when I make the switch over.

The 10K OCI has been great for the Duratechs and I see no reason it won't be for your Toyota. But realize I have been doing 10K OCIs since 1978, so my that's my normal.

I've been a bit ocd about 5K oci using M1. Going 7500 in my Volvo was a big step for me. Going 10K in the wife's 07 Camry is the next move. I'll stay with 5K in the sludge prone 97 and 98 Camrys.

Originally Posted By: teddyboy
Either oil is outstanding for 10K OCIs in most engines.

Tig, I will soon need your encouragement. Wife's Camry is out of warranty and I will change from Toyota 0W20 syn to M1 next change. My plan is to adopt a 10K oci when I make the switch over.

The 10K OCI has been great for the Duratechs and I see no reason it won't be for your Toyota. But realize I have been doing 10K OCIs since 1978, so my that's my normal.

That's what i'm doing in my Mazda6s Duratec.

Peted,

For the price Mobil is asking it had better be good over the standard M1.... For the OCI's your planning I'd get the extended and make sure the oil filter will go the same distance. Besides that using the extended give you a 5K cushion no matter what. That makses me feel better than running it so close using the standard M1.

Durango

Originally Posted By: steve20
...M-1 has always produced more valvetrain noise in any vehicle I've used it in, that, the high iron levels, and that debacle after Katrina, when M-1 wasn't really M-1, is enough for me to choose SOPUS...

I guess it comes down to... you use whatever trips your trigger