5w20 mistakenly put in a 5w30 vehicle

Status
Not open for further replies.
I drive an 4.0L V6 '08 Explorer, which Ford recommends synth blend 5w30 for. I had to let a "professional" change the oil today: for some reason he put in 5w20, which Ford recommends for the 4.6L V8 Explorer. (I didn't catch this until I'd already driven a few miles and the place was now closed for the day.) And the 5w20 was ordinary, no synth whatsoever.

Is this the end of my vehicle as I know it? Should I drop everything and get the shop to do it right ASAP? I live in an extremely hot and dry climate (southern Utah), if that helps. Thanks very much for your time.

Since your Explorer is an '08 therefore you still have warranty then you should change back to 5W30. Your engine is fine with 5W20 if you didn't redline since the oil change.

I'm having Valvoline Synpower 5W20 in my E430, the spec oil is M1 0W40, without problem. I had been using xW20 in it for about 3+ years, the engine seems to like thinner oil better.

It's fine. Most ordinary 5W30's will shear down close to a 20W after the first 1000 miles anyway--and any 5W20 will be more shear resistant, by definition. You have nothing to worry about.

Originally Posted By: JOD
It's fine. Most ordinary 5W30's will shear down close to a 20W after the first 1000 miles anyway--and any 5W20 will be more shear resistant, by definition. You have nothing to worry about.
+1 Couldnt have said it better. If I were in your situation I would just run it for its duration. No harm will come to your engine and you may like it better. Im shocked that your ford doesnt require 5w20 anyway since most of their engines have for the last 10 years. You can avoid these situations if you do your own changes. You cant be hardcore about oil if your not a Do It Yourselfer.

The man is in Nevada(or is it south Utah?) during the summer with a vehicle possibly under warranty.