toyota ws transfluid for dexron vI

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a toyota tech and can buy toyta ws cheap. my brother has a 2005 chevy silverado that calls for dexron VI transfluid . Do you guys think its interchangeable

NO. The Toyota WS fluid is vastly inferior to DEXRON-VI in a number of respects (published information presented at SAE in Chicago about three or four years ago).

Thank you very much indeed. I would not risk an expensive vehicle for the sake of a few dollar savings anyway. Techno curiosity got the best of me though. I also have an LX470 in service. Thank you again.

As I recall, SuperTech DexVI claims that you can use it for Toyota WS applications.

But you know how ATF manufacturers' claims can be. I mean Amsoil claims to work in everything under the sun... but who really believes THAT?

WS is a low visc fluid with a peculiar add pack. So, if you have a $100k vehicle, it may be prudent not to experiment. Red Line D6 claims to be 'suitable'. So is SuperTech, it does say 'recommended'. None is certified though.

Originally Posted By: Y_K
Red Line D6 claims to be 'suitable'.

Not anymore. Last year Redline withdrew it's recommendation for D6 ATF as a replacement for Toyota WS. Now it recommends D4 ATF as a WS replacement. Which is strange, as D4 is definitely higher viscosity than WS.

Thank you for correcting me. I missed that totally. To me it tells to stick with the mfg in my case.

Quote:
None is certified though.

In the lubricant world, certified means that whomever is doing the certification is getting paid a fee and getting paid royalties for that service. Certification is means for OEM's to generate a income stream and get oil companies to pay them a royalty on oil sold to be on the list. Sure lists can be helpful to those who are looking for a product but to infer another brand might be inferior because its not on the list is ridiculous.