Castrol 10W60 Shearing Quickly

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: zyxelenator
Try to run Lubro Moly 10w60, maybe it won't shear so fast. ..

i've been wanting to try it, but in the long run the price is too close to TWS to switch...

Originally Posted By: Gene K
Well modified motors are different than stock. BTW how did you manage to stretch it to 7.0 Liters? I wouldnt have thought it was possible?

the sump on the S62 engine is bigger than the M62 + the manual calls for 6.5L or 6.9qts and with 7L i get to the MAX line, i burn/misread 400ml but never more

if you think 7L is too much, tell it to the dealers or the guys who put in 8 Liters
grin.gif

(*note the engine might take 8L on that very first factory fill or after a rebuild, but either by drain or extraction i can only pull 7L so i fill 7L*)

Last edited:
Having owned two of those cars - an 01 and an 03 - I have lots of experience with the engine and the oil. The folklore about the engine and oil are endless, but the underlying facts are rather simpler.

The S62 engine is omnivorous. Any oil with an HTHS over 3.5 will work, although TWS 10w-60 works best. If I had one again, it wouldn't occur to me to run anything else (I've done that already and I know the results).

TWS 10w-60 shears to 17.5 CSt at 100C within 50 miles of installation. I have a UOA to prove it. It will hold that viscosity for 12,000 miles thereafter (got those UOA's too). That's just how it works. It is the best oil for the engine. In fact, as Doug hints, it's one of the best oils on the planet, period.

Last edited:
Why are you using 10W-60. The recommended oil from prod date 03/00 for E39 M5's was BMW's 5W-30, when changed ring design. So something like M1 0W-40 would be more appropriate.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: jaj
If I had one again, it wouldn't occur to me to run anything else (I've done that already and I know the results).

rod bearings
vanos noise
or consumption