High ash vs TBN vs particle filter etc?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I'm new to this forum and have read somewhat about engine oils. There is however, something which puzzles me concerning diesel engine oils. I'm not an expert I'm just trying to explain what I have read so far:

If you have an older type diesel engine without particle filter and a catalyst, you need a high level of ash and TBN - at least this is what I'm reading. The ash level and TBN seem to follow each other. These 2 values give an indication on the detergent level in the oil which is extremely important in diesel engines because of the high soot level. But there also seems to be some negative effects:

Positive: Detergency (and maybe diperseancy) effect
Negative: More wear due to high ash content. More sludge build-up due to high ash content.

So, is there an optimum in terms of ash content and TBN's? To me it seems very conflicting. Is a high ash content good or bad? Do these oils only make sense if there is an elevated surfur content in the diesel fuel?

I have 2 examples:

For instance, the Mobil Delvac XHP Extra 10W40 has an ash content of 1,9 and a TBN of almost 16. It should be very good for heavy duty diesel engines:
Mobil Delvac

Then again, there is the Castrol Tection Extra. It has a ash content of only 1.2 and a TBN of 12 (15W40 Version).
Castrol Tection

How do these two heavy duty engine oils differ? Will they perform the same or what can be concluded?