XR650L owners here?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here, posting for the first time. I've got a 2008 xr650l with about 3400 miles on it. I've ran Honda GN4 and changing it between 500 and 1000 miles up until now. The dealer told me to wait until I hit 4000 before switching to synthetic. I'm wondering if anyone here has the 650l and what brand and weight of synthetic they run. I've heard good things about Amsoil but not totally sure which way I will go. Any guidance is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Previous 2003 owner here.

I ran shell's 5W-40 synthetic rotella t in mine with no ill effects.

Dealer is smoking crack.

I have heavily modded XR 650L I use Rotella 15w40 and change every 500-1000 miles. My OCI is dependent on my Road/Offroad use.

Mine is setup 90% dirt 10% road, basically like riding a dirt bike on the street... good times.

Last edited:
I had a '97 XR650L, bought new, kept it pretty much stock aside from a mod to eliminate the stupid emissions plumbing hanging off the side of the motor. I went straight to Mobil 1 15w50 after the 600 mile oil change. Usually changed every 1500 miles, always w/ a new filter (usually a cheap STP or Fram from AutoZone).

I rode very little true dirt single track tails, but lots of gravel and dirt roads. Overall maybe 50% on pavement and 50% off pavement. The bike loved the Mobil 1 for the 15,000 miles I owned it. Probably could've gotten away with Rotella 15W40, but with the small oil capacity, it wasn't a huge expense using the synthetic stuff.

Last edited:
Hi,