Harley's Tick,Tick, Tick with synthetic oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, every High End expensive synthetic oil(Red Line, AMSOIL, Mobil 1, SYN 3) I have tried in my 03 TC 88, the engine sounds like it has a box of marbles running through it, whats up with that? anyone know why or have had the same issues. I might just go back to HD 360 and not happy about it, or should I just start wearing ear plugs.

Hi.

I am not too experienced with Harley's but I don't think it is oil-related. It sounds like it is engine related simply because it's harder to screw up an oil mixture (and with many brands too!) than it is to assemble an engine.

I had a tick sound on my 2004 ZX-10R. It was the cam chain tensioner...no problems running it before replacing it...I just revved it until I couldn't hear it :] haha

I just spoke with a Harley shop owner and mechanic, I brought up Amsoil and other true syns, asking him if he used them. He explicitly stated no way and that conventional oil should be used in Harley's as a general rule. He seems to know what he is talking about and has a very successful business. I would try a good conventional.

LOL, Yes, actually I run Klotz in my Snowmobiles, great stuff! same kind of issue in the bike. Dino /HD oil seems to run the best in my bike. I forgot to mention, I am running higher lift cams which could contribute to more noise.

WOW! awesome, a honest mechanic, that's great!!..most of our local mechanic's just try to sell the most expensive stuff.

When I had my '93 ultra and my '03 ultra, I tried amsoil and mobil1 v-twin 20/50 wt oil. And both motors had an annoying tick ,tap, click and clack. In my latest '96 Evo I decided to run regular oil like the previous owner [the jersey city police dept]and its 100 times quieter.I'm not fooling myself into thinking I'm going to keep it forever, or try to get 200k miles out of it. Valvoline VRO 20/50 has been getting good reviews when used in Harley"s, so that"s what I'm using.