Anyone affected by looming government shutdown?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not directly, but my government counterparts are. I'm a contractor for DoD. Military and Contractors have to work. The civilian employees may not.

Originally Posted By: Torino
If they are 'non-essential' who needs them anyway? John--Las Vegas.

The sad thing is they will all get paid. The ones what didn't work probably at the regular rate and those who worked without pay at a rate of Time and a half.

In an non-upside down world..those who didn't work would not get paid.

My wife works in a college library, they're talking about cutting back in her department. (hers is the lowest staffed library department around already)
She's technically a state employee, not really .gov, but sorta.

Originally Posted By: meangreen01
Originally Posted By: Torino
Well, the very veiled threat was that some 800,000 'non-essential' Govt. employees will be laid off. If they are 'non-essential' who needs them anyway? John--Las Vegas.

Interesting point.

The same phrase is used at every private-sector employer too when there is a snow or other emergency. Where I work (which is very profitable) "non-essential" includes over 80% of the staff - but I guarantee we could not be profitable without them on an ongoing basis. Your reasoning is classical "sound bite" thinking.

Last edited:
Military pay is not certain Pablo:

Deputy Secretary of Defense William J. Lynn III Message to DOD Workforce on Potential Government Shutdown http://www.defense.gov/releases/release.aspx?releaseid=14393>
Thu, 07 Apr 2011 12:58:00 -0500