Who makes best brake cleaner ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Off topic I know, but whenever I see a brake cleaner thread I pipe up with the warning that Chlorinated brake cleaner and welding do not mix. A deadly gas can be released if you weld over a portion with any chlorinated brake cleaner still remainging. This gas can be fatal even in very small amounts.

Since I am a hobby welder, ever since I found out about this I only buy the non-chlorinated stuff. Even though it doesn't work as well.

[End of public service announcement]
11.gif

Originally Posted By: EricF
Berryman

and CRC before they took the chlorine out.

I thought the CRC green can was non-chlorinated and the red can was the original formula?

Do any NOT work? Dong know that Ive ever used chlorinated cleaner, but anything I've ever used has been fine. For a disposable solvent that is going to evaporate I'd say go with what is cheapest.

As a home DIY person without a high use rate I've found that the most important thing is which has the best can, as ones that get a leaky valve or similar issue make a real mess that is not good for anything...

Originally Posted By: Jim 5
Off topic I know, but whenever I see a brake cleaner thread I pipe up with the warning that Chlorinated brake cleaner and welding do not mix. A deadly gas can be released if you weld over a portion with any chlorinated brake cleaner still remainging. This gas can be fatal even in very small amounts.

Since I am a hobby welder, ever since I found out about this I only buy the non-chlorinated stuff. Even though it doesn't work as well.

[End of public service announcement]
11.gif

Beat me to it.
thumbsup2.gif

That article should be posted on EVERY automotive/performance/fabrication/hobbyist website in the universe as a highlighted, notated, sticky!!!

I even tell any/every shop I go into about it, just in case they are oblivious, or have not heard about it.
wink.gif