Hydraulic lifters -- viscosity extra-important?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first car with hydraulic lifters. All my previous cars (Hondas) had to get regular valve lash adjustments. In some of my reading on this site I have not seen much mention of how different oil viscosities affect lifter operation.

For a motor with hydraulic lifters (this is a high-output high-revving 40V V8, by the way) is selecting proper viscosity even more important? How does a thinner or thicker oil affect this?

I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question, but coming from several Hondas that ran forever with no upkeep, I am still learning.

My 76 buick had hydraulic lifters, liked any oil from 10w 30 to 20w 50. In fact they like heavier oil better! ( until they got sludged up and i had to pull like crazy to remove them for replacement!)
I think the vvt ( variable valve timing ) is sensitive to viscosity.

Anyone remember rhoads lifters?

Originally Posted By: dparm
This is my first car with hydraulic lifters. All my previous cars (Hondas) had to get regular valve lash adjustments. In some of my reading on this site I have not seen much mention of how different oil viscosities affect lifter operation.

For a motor with hydraulic lifters (this is a high-output high-revving 40V V8, by the way) is selecting proper viscosity even more important? How does a thinner or thicker oil affect this?

I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question, but coming from several Hondas that ran forever with no upkeep, I am still learning.

The ironic thing here is that hydraulic lifters are more "forever with no upkeep" than solid lifters. I personally think solid lifters on cars today seems a bit ridoiculous.

You shouldn't have any problem with oil viscosities. As long as they have oil in them, it's usually enough.

Hi,
Dan - According to engine development processes the lubricant's viscosity is especially important in the scheme of things. Now more than ever before perhaps